Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I was definately skeptical about the mushroom soup, but after trying numerous recipes wtih a cream/flour based sauce, I was ready to try it. I added about 4 cloves of grated garlic and after stirring it at the 30 minute mark, I covered it with grated sharp cheddar. It's definately a keeper and a household favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Made this twice. The first time with cream of chicken and the second with cream of mushroom. I preferred the chicken, while my husband the mushroom. To say, both were delicious.We did add cheese (personal preference) and we had to cook much longer than recipes states...but well worth the wait. I will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Always like potato casseroles and this is easy and good. I do think any cream soup works fine. I used cream of shrimp and only had 3 potatoes on hand. Made the adjustments and topped with a grated hard cheese. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alachua, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good, but I have to say 4 stars because the cooking time is way off. I halved the recipes and mine still took over an hour to cook through and my potatoes were VERY thin. I added shredded mild cheddar in between the layers and on top, yum. Loved the cream of mushroom soup in there, tasted great. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a good basic recipe, just have to add a few more things for flavor. I added some sour cream, fresh thyme, a little garlic and some shredded cheese. I topped it with french-fried onion rings. It also took forever to bake. It was very tasty once it was done. (Almost 2 hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is was good. My boyfriend really enjoyed it. I thought I would try something new...I did change a few things though. I used tri colored potatoes (red, yellow, and purple) sliced them into thin slices, mixed cream of mushroom soup with the pepper, a lil nutmeg, a couple tablespoons onion soup mix, milk and corn starch. After I mixed it all up I poured it over the potato and onions then sprinkled with a mixed shredded cheese blend and couple slices of prosciutto. It baked up creamy and delicious. I will def. make again...next time I want to add thyme and rosemary...I think herbs would give it a nice touch...maybe serve next to rosemary roasted chicken and use some of the extra soup mix as a gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This really was a hit! I really like cheesy potatoes, so I added about 12 oz cheddar. I was in a hurry & forgot the onion, but followed another reviewer's suggestion of the French's onions on top. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Next time I will add more cheese and not so many potatoes. I added six and that was too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe but we prefer it without the onions. I have fixed it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I recommend thinly slicing the pototoes and soaking it in salt water for about 1 hour. Then boil it in hot water for another 5 minutes or so to reduce the baking time. Also when mixing the ingredients in the bowl be a little more generous with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States