Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I went ahead and gave this 4 stars but I'm a little on the fence about this recipe. It's "good" but it's not what I was expecting at all. It was more like the potatoes and sauce I have had cooked with pork chops than scalloped potatoes. I did add the ground mustard and paprika and 1/2 c. grated cheese to the dish as well as some salt and pepper, before baking. I did use the onions. It was good, especially for being low fat, but I don't feel like it screams "scalloped potatoes" for me. I will make it again, but maybe try some low fat velveeta or parmesan or something to give it that extra umpf I'm looking for... Still, great recipe, so glad you shared it! OH! - Also I used cream of mushroom soup. Next time I will use cream of chicken and see how that turns out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Because I had a large-ish casserole full of potatoes, I used two cans of cream soups: cream of celery and cream of mushroom. I also added half of a Velveeta brick because I was aiming for the "cheese" potatoes and cut up several breakfast ham steaks. ThEN, I added the milk, too. I think that is where I went wrong. It was WAAAAAY soupy. After an hour and uber soupy-ness mess, I ended up ladelling out much of the extra liquid, which ACTUALLY ended up being FABULOUS cheese soup. My potatoes weren't getting done, either, so I put the whole dish in the microwave and nuked it for about ten minutes, then put it back in the oven on low broil to brown the top. It took a lot longer than expected, but the flavor was phenomenal. And now I know how to make cheese soup. :) Fabulous. I know what changes to make next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HermionePlease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Added shredded monterey jack cheese and used Cream of Mushroom with roasted garlic!! very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
These would have only been a four, but I added shredded cheddar during the last ten minutes of cooking. If there were bacon bits added as well as the cheddar these would be fantastic! This recipe is a great way to use extra potatoes and would be a nice complement to any meat dish. Plus it's inexpensive and easy to make, definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not an amazing recipe, but it was good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
amazing!!!!!!!!!!!My husband had 10 of his college buddies over for a bbq and I made these potatoes and everyone raved about them. The key to this recipe is cube the potatoes and onions. Also I added chedder cheese on top. so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Totally boring, potatoes came out soft and recipe was easy but so many recipes out there to try and this one isn't worth trying to mess with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Just ok, had to bake a lot longer as the potatoes were cruunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Knox Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Good recipe. I cut back to just 1 cup of milk, probably could cut back a little more (I like my sauce thick and creamy). Next time I will add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meighan_d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States