Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Great recipe, I used cream of chicken soup,fresh thyme,rosemary,onion and garlic. Added some cheddar cheese and a little butter. I did parboil the potatoes for about 15 min before adding them to the mixture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I modified this recipe and it was GREAT! I seasoned my potatoes first using garlic powder, minced onions and pepper using my hands to stir.In a bowl I mix cream of mushrooms, butter, water and cheese sauce(Ragu) in the microwave for 1.5 mins then I stirred it.I pour it over my potatoes and took a big spoon to blend it in.I put it in the oven for 1 1/2 hrs uncovered on 350°.It was delicious btw this was my first time and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe for something different. It was easy and a big hit. The only thing I did different was I added garlic salt and sprinkled shredded cheese on it when it was done. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe is now my families favorite! Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Ok.... This is fantastic! Here is a fool proof method! Sauté a small cooking onion in large pot on stovetop in butter or margarine. Add salt and pepper. When soft, add minced garlic and small can of mushrooms. After fragrant..... Using whisk, stir in a couple ounces of cream cheese and 1/2 cup of sour cream (or whatever you have leftover in fridge). I had homemade ranch dip made with sour cream and HVR powder, so used that. Stir in can of cream of mushroom soup and fill can with milk and add to pot. Combine well. Stir in a Tbsp. of Worcestershire sauce, more salt and pepper to taste, parsley, garlic powder, (and I also added garlic salt). Stir well and let simmer until fragrant. Stir in your sliced potatoes and cover. Let SIMMER on stovetop in sauce, stirring every 5 or 10 minutes, for at least half hour! Wen almost soft, transfer to casserole dish and slip in oven until potatoes are soft and brown on top! You can add cheese if you like but doesn't need it! I added grated Romano cheese to sauce just because I like a little tang, but that was a personal touch! :). Add sautéed ground beef to make it a meal, serve with tossed salad! Do not omit Worcestershire sauce.... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I decided at the last minute to make scalloped potatoes, and opted to use this recipe as I didn't want to take the time to make them using a traditional recipe. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised at how they turned out! They tasted very similar to scalloped potatoes made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I just finished eating these scalloped potatoes and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed them! I took advice from others....I soaked the potatoes in salt water after cutting them thinly and I also added a bit of extra milk(but I don't think I will add extra next time). I also added paprika, salt, onion and garlic powder, and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a great starting off point recipe for someone who has never made scalloped potatoes before. I used cream of mushroom soup, sliced yellow onions, doubled the amount of potatoes (so it wasn't to runny), and added bacon pieces as well to the layers. Honestly the best ones we've had yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just tried this for a family reunion. I added salt, garlic, onion and sharp cheddar cheese. It took forever to cook up in the crock pot so I cooked it 18 minutes in the microwave, it still could have been cooked longer. I will fix again but add more of all the stuff and cook potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States