Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
About 2 hours before we had 20 people in for dinner, my husband convinced me that we didn't have enough side dishes. My pantry was bare except for an abundance of potatoes and I didn't want plain baked. I checked in with this site and found scalloped (since I had never made them before). I sliced up some Kielbasa and grated some cheddar cheese and layered them in this recipe. My guests raved about it! Denyse is right about this being a great dish for fancy meal. PS I used mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MWT
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
We enjoyed this very much. I used cream of onion soup and didn't use the sliced onion. I used red skin potatoes and sliced them very thin. I didn't peel them. I mixed the soup, milk, pepper, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1/4 teaspoon ground mustard and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika with 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch and then poured over the potatoes. They cooked up thick and creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great recipe. It's just like the one my mom made when I was a kid. To make it a bit less bland, soak the raw potatoes in cold salt water for a couple hours. Drain them and par boil them with a can of chicken broth in the water. This gives the potatoes more flavor and cuts down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I tried this recipe because it was simple. After reading the reviews I modified it slightly by adding salt to each layer, adding a little crushed garlic to the milk & soup, sprinkling the top with crushed rosemary, and baking it at 450 for one hour covered. Then I topped it with French Fried Onion rings and let it brown in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. It was great! Will definitely serve this at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My mom used to make this when I was young. She used sliced potatoes and 2 cans cream of mushroom soup. a can of mushrooms. A cup to a cup and a half of milk. cover untill 3/4 cooked then take cover off and let brown. These are the best scalloped Potatoes ever!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I added ham and cheese and cut back on the pepper. My kids really liked this recipe, but it was a bit soupy and could have used some more seasonings. Next time I'll cut back on the milk and add some salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Very good! You can vary it by putting different cream soups. Sometimes cream of mushroom, sometimes cream of potato, cream of chicken, broccolli, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Add cheese for a different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Very easy to prepare. I only had a can of cream of asaragus soup and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe. I added some ham and next time I will probably use less pepper, but I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizannep
Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States