Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
About 2 hours before we had 20 people in for dinner, my husband convinced me that we didn't have enough side dishes. My pantry was bare except for an abundance of potatoes and I didn't want plain baked. I checked in with this site and found scalloped (since I had never made them before). I sliced up some Kielbasa and grated some cheddar cheese and layered them in this recipe. My guests raved about it! Denyse is right about this being a great dish for fancy meal. PS I used mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MWT
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
We enjoyed this very much. I used cream of onion soup and didn't use the sliced onion. I used red skin potatoes and sliced them very thin. I didn't peel them. I mixed the soup, milk, pepper, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1/4 teaspoon ground mustard and 1/4 teaspoon of paprika with 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch and then poured over the potatoes. They cooked up thick and creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great recipe. It's just like the one my mom made when I was a kid. To make it a bit less bland, soak the raw potatoes in cold salt water for a couple hours. Drain them and par boil them with a can of chicken broth in the water. This gives the potatoes more flavor and cuts down on the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I tried this recipe because it was simple. After reading the reviews I modified it slightly by adding salt to each layer, adding a little crushed garlic to the milk & soup, sprinkling the top with crushed rosemary, and baking it at 450 for one hour covered. Then I topped it with French Fried Onion rings and let it brown in the oven for an additional 10 minutes. It was great! Will definitely serve this at a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My mom used to make this when I was young. She used sliced potatoes and 2 cans cream of mushroom soup. a can of mushrooms. A cup to a cup and a half of milk. cover untill 3/4 cooked then take cover off and let brown. These are the best scalloped Potatoes ever!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I added ham and cheese and cut back on the pepper. My kids really liked this recipe, but it was a bit soupy and could have used some more seasonings. Next time I'll cut back on the milk and add some salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
Very good! You can vary it by putting different cream soups. Sometimes cream of mushroom, sometimes cream of potato, cream of chicken, broccolli, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
Add cheese for a different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2001
Very easy to prepare. I only had a can of cream of asaragus soup and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
With my changes I'd give it 4.5 stars. I halfed recipe (only me & my daughter). Added 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese to ingredients. Left potatoes unpeeled, and thinly sliced them. Mixed 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 can of whole milk. Sauteed 1/2 diced onion in a pat of butter. Used 1/8 tsp pepper & 1/2 tsp kosher salt. Layered as follows: 1/2 of everything - potato slices, seasoning, onions, soup mix, cheese, repeat and cooked for listed time & temp. My daughter loves 'em and I was happy with recipe. Wanted a scalloped potato recipe that wasn't swimming in cheese so this had the perfect balance for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States