Baked Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was good, but I have to say 4 stars because the cooking time is way off. I halved the recipes and mine still took over an hour to cook through and my potatoes were VERY thin. I added shredded mild cheddar in between the layers and on top, yum. Loved the cream of mushroom soup in there, tasted great. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a good basic recipe, just have to add a few more things for flavor. I added some sour cream, fresh thyme, a little garlic and some shredded cheese. I topped it with french-fried onion rings. It also took forever to bake. It was very tasty once it was done. (Almost 2 hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is was good. My boyfriend really enjoyed it. I thought I would try something new...I did change a few things though. I used tri colored potatoes (red, yellow, and purple) sliced them into thin slices, mixed cream of mushroom soup with the pepper, a lil nutmeg, a couple tablespoons onion soup mix, milk and corn starch. After I mixed it all up I poured it over the potato and onions then sprinkled with a mixed shredded cheese blend and couple slices of prosciutto. It baked up creamy and delicious. I will def. make again...next time I want to add thyme and rosemary...I think herbs would give it a nice touch...maybe serve next to rosemary roasted chicken and use some of the extra soup mix as a gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This really was a hit! I really like cheesy potatoes, so I added about 12 oz cheddar. I was in a hurry & forgot the onion, but followed another reviewer's suggestion of the French's onions on top. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Next time I will add more cheese and not so many potatoes. I added six and that was too many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe but we prefer it without the onions. I have fixed it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I recommend thinly slicing the pototoes and soaking it in salt water for about 1 hour. Then boil it in hot water for another 5 minutes or so to reduce the baking time. Also when mixing the ingredients in the bowl be a little more generous with the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good recipe. Could use more seasoning. Husband still had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly as it says and it turned out horrible. As easy as the recipe sounds, I most definitely would NOT recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
It wasn't that these tasted bad, in fact, they tasted pretty good (after I added garlic, cheese and additional seasonings.) The reason I am only giving these 2 stars is because it took me 2 days to achieve an edible result. The first night, I had a great dinner planned or my hubby and I (kids with the grandparents) of thick cut ribeyes, broccoli and scalloped potatoes, and because of these, we had no starch, well done steaks and cold broccoli...after an hour and a half in the oven,these still were only half cooked at best, and had managed overflow all over my oven. Not one to waste, I put them in the fridge and planned to use them last night for dinner. After 10 mins in the microwave, then another hour and 15 mins in the oven at 375, these were finally edible...( that's right, an incredible total cooking time of almost 3 hours)but for all that, they were defiantely NOT worth it...my potatoes were sliced very thin, so it wasn't that, and my oven tends to cook hotter than other ovens i've had previously, so I am just trying to figure out what went wrong...but I won't be making these again to find out! sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States