Baked Salmon with Coconut Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I am always looking for new ways to make salmon and this one is just delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
VERY GOOD - Has exceptional flavor. I used tilapia but sure any fish would taste equally tasty made this way. I also added the brown sugar and butter as others suggested and that gave it that added touch. A KEEPER recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I REALLLLY wanted this recipe to be good, because I love any combination of sweet and suculent, I love coconut and I love salmon... that being said, it was not amazing... the combination really left much to be desired, it was like something was missing... it just did not mesh well together. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Wiegand Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this dish twice now. The first time I followed the directions exactly and it was good. The second time I made some adjustments and it was FANTASTIC! Here's what I did: I let the fillets marinate in the salmon for about 1 hour and 45 minutes while they were thawing out. Then, after dredging them with the coconut breading on both sides I put the remaining breading on the top and followed the rest of the directions exactly. I think next time I won't put so much salt in the coconut mix because the lime it didn't go well with the lime on the fillet. Otherwise...PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I really love this recipe...it's light and different. Panko is a must, and the lemon juice/sweet coconut combo is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
this was so good! i did add the brown sugar/butter sauce to the top as suggested by other reviewers and the result was fantastic. my husband who at first was not enthusiastic about trying this recipe (he said maybe if i left out the cocount, which i refused!) decided that this is now his favorite meal and he "wants this every week"!!! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. It was too plain and needs some sort of sauce. There are better ways to prepare salmon. I did like the texture of the crust, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is really delicious. There's no words that can describe this dish. All I can say is "Mmmmmm." Changed the ingredients by using few of the reviewers suggestions. I sprinkled a little bit of flour on top. I substituted lime with 2 tbsp. butter, used seasoned crumbs instead and mixed the butter and brown sugar together. I poured it on top of the fish before putting it in the oven. It turned out great! Definitely will make it again. I'll rate this recipe a BIG 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was just excellent. And very easy - although I simplified the recipe even further. I soaked the fish as per directions, salted it, and sprinkled a little flour over the fish (so the margarine would stick); then spread margarine (could easily be butter) over the fish and then simply sprinkled the panko/coconut mixture over that. I also drizzled a mix of melted butter and brown sugar over that. I baked it in a heavy pan in the BBQ, no cover or tin foil over the dish. It baked perfectly. I will indeed make this again. Not a single crumb left on any of the 8 plates at dinner. Thanks for the recipe. I served it with red parley potatoes and Rainbow Pasta Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Delicious recipe! A few changes I made: First, I didn't have any lemon juice so instead I melted two tablespoons of butter. Then instead of dredging the fillets in the mixture I mixed 1-2 tablespoons (depending on the size of the fillet) of coconut flakes and 1/2-1 (again depending on the size) tablespoon of seasoned breadcrumbs and put them into a small bowl. I then seasoned with sea salt and pepper to taste, mixed it by hand and after I brushed one fillet with the melted butter I put the coconut/breadcrumb mixture on top of it. I repeated the process until all the fillets had topping and then put them in the oven on the suggested setting (I chose to have them in the whole fifteen minutes) and they turned out beautifully! One thing I will do differently next time is to put aluminum foil on the bottom of the pan. I forgot all about it and the juices from the fish and butter burnt to the bottom of the pan and made it hard to clean. so just use aluminum foil and it'll work:) I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States