Baked Salmon II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe. As recommended, made the following changes, and it turned out wonderfully: 2 T. olive oil, 1 T. melted butter, 3/4 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp salt, 3 T lemon juice, 1 tsp dried parsley, dash of dill weed. Instead of wrapping fillets individually, I just put the foil on top of the baking dish. I also skin fish before marinading (CRUCIAL for lessening fishy taste). Overall VERY easy. I make it with rice & serve the remaining marinade to drizzle on rice & fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I would like to give this one at least 6 stars. It was very good. I did decrease the olive oil to 1 (one) tablespoon and decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and I can not imagine it tasting any better. I marinated it in a plastic bag and kind of massaged the oil mixture into the salmon and then left it for an hour. I may decrease the pepper a wee bit next time. For you fellow Weight Watchers I calculated the points for a 6 ounce fillet to be 8.5. ***That is the points using 1 tblsp. of oil for the 2 fillets. Enjoy! Thanks Norma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
We were trying to get into the habit of eating fish for dinner once a week. We printed out several fish recipes - this happened to be the first one we tried. We never got around to trying the others. This has become a staple in our weekly menu. We don't use fillets, we use boneless salmon steaks instead (you'll need to bake for the full 45 mins. if you do too). I add two slices of lemon atop each salmon steak prior to closing up the packets. Since we prefer to serve this over white rice (sounds odd but is delicious) we omit the parsley so that we're left with a bit of sauce after it's done baking which we then pour over and toss the rice in. We place the rice on a plate, the salmon on top and serve with steamed broccoli all around. Once a week every week and it's never gotten old. I still look forward to it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
957 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Oh my gosh! I NEVER liked salmon before - but this was SO good!! I doubled the garlic, halved the olive oil, and used 1 tsp dried parsley. I was worried there wouldn't be enough juice, but after cooking the salmon for 45 minutes, there was plenty of yummy juice! It was a tad salty (and I love salty food!), so I might decrease the salt to 3/4 tsp next time. I will definitely make this over and over again - I'm proud of myself for actually loving a salmon dish! (UPDATE: I have started using this same method for chicken breasts, and they come out amazing too!! I love to serve it over brown rice...the juice gives the rice a nice flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent recipe. As recommended, made the following changes, and it turned out wonderfully: 2 T. olive oil, 1 T. melted butter, 3/4 tsp basil, OMITTED the salt, 3 T lemon juice, 1 tsp dried parsley, dash of dill weed. Instead of wrapping fillets individually, I just put the foil on top of the baking dish. I also skin fish before marinading (CRUCIAL for lessening fishy taste). Overall VERY easy. I make it with rice & serve the remaining marinade to drizzle on rice & fish. I will be making this to serve again for a group of 52 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Really easy to make! A few notes: 1) There was way too much oil!! The fish was swimming in it! Use only 2 tablespoons and reduce the lemon accordingly if desired. 2) I used pressed grapeseed oil instead of olive oil and it was very light and added a buttery undertone that was nice. 3) I added 1/2 teaspoon of dill and was very glad I did. Next time I will add a full teaspoon. 4) I used half the salt and it was enough. 5) I marinated it only 1/2 an hour and it was plenty. You want to be able to taste the salmon! 6) I used 3 (8 ounce) fillets and baked in a small casserole dish with foil over the top, and a light coating of butter and lemon juice on the bottom. There was still enough marinate for the extra fillet. It worked very well except the marinate mix was about 1/2 inch deep after 20 minutes in the oven, hence the comment about too much oil. Overall an easy, low-mess marinate that I will make again with less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Famouscook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This is a fantastic marinade that really brings out the flavors of the salmon! I do not use the tinfoil method as that tends to take too much time. Instead, I put the salmon in a glass dish, pour this fabulous marinade over the top and broil it. I've found that about 5-7 minutes on either side gets it done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I read all the great reviews on this recipe so I just had to try it, and boy am I glad I did. It was sooo good!!! All the other salmon recipes that I have are now history, as this is delicious and easy. I only used 2 tbl. olive oil, 1/2 tsp. each of salt and pepper, and increased lemon juice to 3 tbl. I marinated the salmon for about 3 hours. I had to cut the cooking time down to 25 min. as it was done when I first checked it. Thanks Norma for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
We loved this recipe! I used the exact ingredients listed, only I tripled the recipe and marinated for 24 and 48 hours. I thought the fish was even better after 48 hours. Also, 35 minutes was plenty for 3 fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I normally would not eat salmon, but after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try. Like others I reduced the olive oil to 4 tablespoons and increased the lemon juice to 2 tablespoons. It was very easy and tasted great. I can't stand fish that tastes too fishy and this definately didn't. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States