Baked Round Steak in Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I did double the bbq sauce ingredients, and I slow cooked for a few hours. Round steak is a very tough meat, and does well with tomatoes (the ketchup) and the long, slow cooking. After I browned it I added all the other ingredients and simmered it on the stove for hours. It was very saucy and tender. I thickened up the sauce and served it over mashed potatoes. It was yummy. I think I may add some green pepper and onion when I brown the meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is good, but the first time I made it I found it to be a bit lacking in flavor. The second time I added some minced onion and fried it with the garlic and that seemed to do the trick because now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out very bland and the meat was tough. I would reccomend doubling the bbq sauce ingredients if anyone else wants to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Holy smokes did this ever turn out well! I added onions in with the garlic (after browning the meat, before adding all the other stuff) and I did bake it but at a lower temp for a longer time. It turned out great, and that's saying something considering my lack of cooking skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
It came out tender and good. I cooked it on the stovetop covered for 30 minutes on medium low before I put it in the oven. I also added season salt and onion powder to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
We had this tonight--its a keeper! I doubled the sauce as suggested in the last post. I also used bacon grease instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce ingredients and it made it very saucy. However next time i would only do 1.5 times more vinegar b/c it turned out very vinegary. Other alterations to the recipe i made were using liquid honey mustard instead of dry mustard and added a lil onion powder and used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I also browned the steak then added the ingredients to a big sauce pan and just simmered it covered for about an hour and a half and it was fall apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Yum, Yum! Followed others advice and dbled the sauce ingredients except the vinegar. Also used regular mustard, not dry.Also added a quarter of an onion with the garlic. Meat was a bit tough (not bad), but I believe that was because of the steak I bought not because of the recipe. The sauce had a fantastic flavor to it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe worked really well for my husband's round steak moose meat. I especially loved the homemade barbeque sauce taste! If it tastes a little too vinegary, add some brown sugar and/or honey. I added a little of both and it was the finishing touch to make this recipe perfect! I also just cooked it on low on the stove top with a lid and the meat was as tender as can be for round steak. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: South Colby, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This had way too much vinegar! I had to add more sugar and ketchup to make this edible! It might just be an error in the recipe because it also calls for way too much meat to feed 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States