Baked Round Steak in Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out very bland and the meat was tough. I would reccomend doubling the bbq sauce ingredients if anyone else wants to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I did double the bbq sauce ingredients, and I slow cooked for a few hours. Round steak is a very tough meat, and does well with tomatoes (the ketchup) and the long, slow cooking. After I browned it I added all the other ingredients and simmered it on the stove for hours. It was very saucy and tender. I thickened up the sauce and served it over mashed potatoes. It was yummy. I think I may add some green pepper and onion when I brown the meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
We had this tonight--its a keeper! I doubled the sauce as suggested in the last post. I also used bacon grease instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is good, but the first time I made it I found it to be a bit lacking in flavor. The second time I added some minced onion and fried it with the garlic and that seemed to do the trick because now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I used top sirlion instead of round steak . The meat cooked up in about an 50 minutes . I had to pull it out or it would have been overcooked. The meat was a little bit tough but the meat was still tasty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was just okay. I'll probably make it again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Nice and easy recipe to make on the quick. After reading other lack of flavor comments, I "helped it out" by adding some ready made barbeque sauce to the ketchup mixture. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
It came out tender and good. I cooked it on the stovetop covered for 30 minutes on medium low before I put it in the oven. I also added season salt and onion powder to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce ingredients and it made it very saucy. However next time i would only do 1.5 times more vinegar b/c it turned out very vinegary. Other alterations to the recipe i made were using liquid honey mustard instead of dry mustard and added a lil onion powder and used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I also browned the steak then added the ingredients to a big sauce pan and just simmered it covered for about an hour and a half and it was fall apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Holy smokes did this ever turn out well! I added onions in with the garlic (after browning the meat, before adding all the other stuff) and I did bake it but at a lower temp for a longer time. It turned out great, and that's saying something considering my lack of cooking skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States