Baked Round Steak in Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This recipe turned out very bland and the meat was tough. I would reccomend doubling the bbq sauce ingredients if anyone else wants to try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA
Living In: Crater Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I did double the bbq sauce ingredients, and I slow cooked for a few hours. Round steak is a very tough meat, and does well with tomatoes (the ketchup) and the long, slow cooking. After I browned it I added all the other ingredients and simmered it on the stove for hours. It was very saucy and tender. I thickened up the sauce and served it over mashed potatoes. It was yummy. I think I may add some green pepper and onion when I brown the meat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
We had this tonight--its a keeper! I doubled the sauce as suggested in the last post. I also used bacon grease instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe is good, but the first time I made it I found it to be a bit lacking in flavor. The second time I added some minced onion and fried it with the garlic and that seemed to do the trick because now it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I used top sirlion instead of round steak . The meat cooked up in about an 50 minutes . I had to pull it out or it would have been overcooked. The meat was a little bit tough but the meat was still tasty. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was just okay. I'll probably make it again, but not often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Nice and easy recipe to make on the quick. After reading other lack of flavor comments, I "helped it out" by adding some ready made barbeque sauce to the ketchup mixture. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
It came out tender and good. I cooked it on the stovetop covered for 30 minutes on medium low before I put it in the oven. I also added season salt and onion powder to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was pretty good. I took the advice of others and doubled the sauce ingredients and it made it very saucy. However next time i would only do 1.5 times more vinegar b/c it turned out very vinegary. Other alterations to the recipe i made were using liquid honey mustard instead of dry mustard and added a lil onion powder and used seasoned salt instead of regular salt. I also browned the steak then added the ingredients to a big sauce pan and just simmered it covered for about an hour and a half and it was fall apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Holy smokes did this ever turn out well! I added onions in with the garlic (after browning the meat, before adding all the other stuff) and I did bake it but at a lower temp for a longer time. It turned out great, and that's saying something considering my lack of cooking skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States