Baked Rigatoni with Italian Sausage and Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, except I used sweet Italian sausage instead of hot. Came out AWESOME!! I would suggest, however, that you saute the fennel for about 10-12 minutes instead of only five. Just keep checking it until it softens up enough. Really, the only way you'll get it right is to check it (pick up a piece and eat it!) until it's cooked to a level of tenderness that you like. Also, I took the foil cover off and just continued to bake it for another 5-10 minutes, instead of turning the broiler on (my baking dish can't be used under a broiler). Great flavor, tastes even better the next day, and freezes really well. A winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Fantastic dish. Being Italian, I made my own sauce which is just as easy, you saute onion and garlic, add crushed tomatoes, fresh basil and oregano. Cook with lid on otherwise sauce will make a big mess. I also added white wine when you sauté the onions garlic and peppers. I omitted the Fennel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This dish was wonderful! My husband does not like red pepper so I did omit this but, the flavors were so intense it didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Wonderful, hearty, flavorful. This will remain as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRECKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as indicated, and I followed the recommendation of another reviewer (to cook the fennel a bit longer than 5 minutes). All went well, the dish smelled and looked great, but the taste was a bit too strong with the hot Italian sausages to me and my hubby. I left half of the sausages on the side (off to the trash they went!) Next time I will add more sauce because it ended up too dry, and I may use chicken sausages instead of the hot Italian ones. The fennel did not do anything to the dish, except to make it healthier? The flavor was completly lost in the sauce and cheeses flavors. I could have added more onions instead of the wonderful fennel I got, and it would not have made a difference in the taste. Too bad since I had high expectations for this recipe. I definetely need to modify next time in order to give it more than 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam Cabello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great taste! I would recommend using a mild sauce to bring out the fennel, onion, garlic & pepper taste. Also, the hot italian sausage was too hot for my kids but they loved everything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this recipe it was so easy and well lets just say my boyfriend finished the whole thing.. and he is a picky eater! Mine was very basic.. and I used dried basil mixed some italian seasoning. It was soo yummy.. I hate pasta.. and I was snacking on it a lot more then usual. Thanks for the ideal. This recipe is a keeper and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was awesome! I used bulk mild Italian sausage and crumbled it with the veggies. We loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was very good. My sausage didn't cook through in 15 minutes, so I sliced it up and cooked the slices themselves for another 5 min. I did as other reviewers advised and sliced the fennel really thin. It was still too crunchy for my taste after the 5 minutes of sauteing, so I sauteed for about 12 minutes or until it was almost soft, but not as soft as the onions. The fennel completely softened up when I baked it. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and everyone thought it was delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Basic, but extremely tasty! The fennel flavor was not as prominent as I thought it would be. If I make this again, I will double all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States