Baked Rice and Vegetables in Broth Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Tonight is the 2nd time I've made this recipe. The first time I followed the directions, adding a few more spices and baking it, but the rice never cooked enough and I used a boxed rice mix. So this time I bought a Wegmans whole grain 5 rice blend and cooked that according to the directions on the box, but used the 2 cups of vegetable stock, a 1/4 cup of red wine, basil, tyme and some garlic and onion powder. I sauteed the onions and mushrooms in olive oil and once they were soft added a bag of Giant brand country blend vegetables and let them cook a little. Once the rice was done I mixed it with the veggies. Much better! The rice was done. I got some Tyson braised beef steak in bourbon sauce for my husband and son and they mixed it with the rice and veggies. I'll make this again, but it's better to cook the rice separately and not even bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is really good! I did do things a bit differently after reading the reviews, but I didn't change that much. I used about 1/2 - 2/3 cup of each vegetable instead of 1/4. I sauteed the onions first, because I hate crunchy onions, and didn't use the onion flakes. I also used 3 1/2 cups broth as some of the reviews suggested. I followed other suggestions and cooked the rice in the covered dish for 30 minutes by itself, stirring once, before adding the veggies. I was really disappointed to see, after the 30 minutes, that the rice (all three kinds) was perfectly done! So I added a smidge more water, mixed in the veggies, and baked for another 20 minutes. Came out fine, but next time I'll just add the veggies after 10 minutes and see how that works. I don't know why so many others have had trouble with this recipe. I'd say to add the extra cup of water and make sure to tightly cover the baking dish so the steam doesn't evaporate (I used foil). Spray the dish with non-stick spray or grease it. Make this right and it turns out fantastic. I've used it as a great veggie main dish, but it would also be good as side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Just like everyone else said, you really should cook the rice first. We ended up with some half-cooked rice We put baby spinach, broccoli, yellow onion, mushrooms and carrots in ours. No wild rice, or brown rice, and no bell pepper. The only seasonings we used were fresh ground black pepper and sea salt. My wife also used 50/50 milk/water instead of just water. The dish was very good over all and quite healthy since we used fresh vegetables. Our 3yo and 11mo really enjoyed it. I put red chilli sauce on mine and it made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I thought this was fantastic... I made this pretty much as-is with a couple minor substitutions (I only had green bell peppers and no red on hand, for example) I had no trouble with the rice not cooking, though I did add an extra half cup or so of brown rice to the mix. Really delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was a good weeknight meal when the other directions were followed. Added cooked chicken and veggies after cooking for 30 mins and cooked for an additional 30mins. My husband and i liked it, as well as my 2 yr old daughter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
it tasted kind of mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Bland...requires more flavour. Could be made faster as a stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I used only brown rice since that's all I had on hand. I also only added onions, peppers and carrots since I didn't have any of the other ingredients. Also I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth again since that is what I had. I thought it turned out great and the whole family approved it. Definetely will make it again, maybe using the additional kinds of rice if I have them, otherwise I'd do it just the same as the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Pretty good. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I doubled the recipe, but didn't want sodium-laden broth, so substituted 1 14.5-oz. can of petite diced tomatoes w/no salt added, 1 cup red wine, and the rest water. Went heavy on the veggies, up to double, and generous with the spices. Baked the rice/"broth"/spices for 30 min., then added veggies, stirred, and baked 30 min. longer, then let sit about 20 min. Came out great! Oh, and rather than long-grain and wild rice separately, I bought a small bag of a gourmet wild rice blend and used that instead of the combo. Turned out very tasty, and surprisingly sweet, but not overly. Would serve this to company, perhaps with some wild-caught salmon and broccoli, Brussels sprouts, or asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States