Baked Rice (Ross Fil-Forn) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
This was really good maltese Ross Fil-Forn. My Husband is from Malta and he said it was the best he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smamo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I thought this was pretty good! The fresh mint does not make it "minty" but it adds a nice depth of flavor. Mine came out with a lovely cheesy crust on top and a beautiful crunchy bottom layer as well. My hub thought it was a bit bland (which is weird because usually I'm the one who finds things bland, but not this time) but my 2 toddlers gobbled it up. I didn't know exactly what to do with the eggs (I beat them before adding them) and the recipe didn't say what to do with the basil and mint (I added them with the cheese and eggs, etc) but it seemed to work out just fine. I made it with ground chicken and would probably double the meat next time. I also made it with a can of diced tomatoes and I might like even more tomatoes next time. I appreciated not having to chop anything and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joely
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Its a nice dish but I do it a little bit different.I use tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes.I dont use chicken stock,bayleaaf,basil,mint or mazorella cheese.I put one teaspoon of italian seasoning,4 slices of bacon,1 cup peas.This is a great dish and it could be also served at a room tempretaure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joely

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I had to make a few modifications to this recipe because I didn't have everything on hand. I did not have canned tomatoes so I used some fresh ones that came from a friends garden (along with some salt) and I think that helped with flavor. I also added about a teaspoon of marjoram and a teaspoon of crushed italian seasoning to the ground beef while it cooked and I think that it could have used even a bit more of the marjoram. I didn't have chicken broth so used beef and I think that it worked out just fine. The dish wasn't robust with flavor but was a good comfort dish and would be good as a stuffing for peppers or mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was pretty good, but nothing spectacular. I made it exactly as the recipe suggested and I liked that it was very easy to make (no chopping, time to do other things while it was simmering and in the oven). I like the basil and mint, which gave it an interesting flavor, although if I try this again I will probably add more spices since I felt like it could benefit from additional spice/heat. As others have commented, it was a little bland for me and my husband, although I can see it working perfectly for toddlers and young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I added a lot more spice, and I used freshly roasted tomatoes. If you're not really careful the rice will not cook, so I recommend that you use a quicker cooking rice like Jasmine. It's also tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was kind of bland. I really didnt care for the mint. It tasted like I was chewing gum with my food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I'm sorry to say I did not like this recipe at all. I followed it to the letter...I don't believe you can write an accurate review otherwise...and it just tasted (for lack of a better word) weird. The mint and the basil made an odd combination. My husband, who usually eats anything, took two bites and couldn't eat anymore. I tried it the next day as left overs...and it wasn't any better. Because I hate wasting food, I drowned it in cheese and ranch dressing so it was edible. I don't know...maybe I did something wrong...I used dried herbs instead of fresh...maybe with fresh it would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States