Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have been looking for this exact version of rice pudding for MONTHS - this recipe is very similar to the one my mother used to make. This is supposed to be a dry baked pudding (NOT creamy stovetop style) and it is fabulous just as the recipe is. For those that find it "dry," in my family we always poured half and half over the pudding to serve it and it was soooo good. The only change was that I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg but that's my taste preference. Perfect, thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe overall tasted good... It seemed like it needed more sugar and butter so I added that and it seemed to help. Make sure to cook the rice ALL the way mine came out a tad crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Not the rice pudding I was hoping for. Way too much rice in it. It was like a sweet rice casserole instead of rice pudding. My husband seemed to like it though, but I will continue searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I've been thinking about rice pudding for days now, but none of the recipes seemed to produce a creamy baked pudding. Well this one does! I used jasmine rice and coconut milk just because that is what I had on hand. I increased the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 tsp, but followed the rest as written. Thanks for a lovely rice pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Not very creamy - it tasted okay but I was looking for a recipe with more custard. It was actually kind of blah - needed something - maybe more eggs & milk (or cream). Probably wouldn't make it again. Still searching for the perfect baked rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It came out really good and my kids love it. I will be makin that again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
taste was good but VERY DRY!! I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I decided to try this even after reading some of the bad reviews. This is a great recipe. I only changed it a little bit to make it taste like my great grandmothers who was born and raised in Mississippi and will turn 108 this October. Cooked the rice in milk, butter and 1/2 cup sugar. I used 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 cream, 2 tbsp butter, I only had cinnamon and increased the sugar to 1 cup. This is a very southern traditional rice pudding not the soupy/creamy kind they make in northern states. My kids loved it so much they took some to school for their snack. Not for dieters that's for sure. Works well with soy milk for those who are lactose intolerant. I used vanilla flavored.(second try) Oh and don't forget to spray or butter the dish!!! I will certainly be making this for my Big Momma as a birthday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great recipe!!! My grandmother always added coconut to her pudding. So I cooked the rice with 1 cup of coconut milk and 1 cup of water. I added leftover shredded coconut, approx 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a perfect baked rice pudding recipe. The only things i did different were add more raisins and I used canned milk because i had a can I had to use. Did everything else exactly as stated. It is the closest to my Grandma's recipe I have tried. Nice and firm and not too sweet - it is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States