Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Having read the reviews (and custard), I doubled the egg mixture. Turned out just like Gma used to make. I also used cooked minute rice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelraymond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
People! I don't get the constant complaints about this pudding being too dry! IT IS A DIFFERENT STYLE OF RICE PUDDING - IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE FIRM ENOUGH TO CUT! Get it? If you want a vanilla-pudding-with-rice-in-it type of pudding, USE A DIFFERENT RECIPE! Don't waste everyone's time complaining that this recipe isn't like that. The lady (with all the yes votes) who says the recipe is wrong is totally out to lunch - the changes she suggested would change it to a completely different recipe. That said - this recipe is delicious - I put a little cinnamon in it and nutmeg on top. Good warm or cold - also good with milk or cream poured over. Brings back childhood memories from the South. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was pretty good other than I added more egg and milk because it would have been too dry. It tasted good and only lacked texture. I would make again but would also add about half again as much sugar because it wasn't as sweet as the rice pudding that I'm accustomed to eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
From the other reviews, it was obvious that the flavor of this pudding was good, but it was very dry. I used a lot more milk - and also used a bit more sugar - so wrote the proportions as a customized recipe. I think even with the extra liquid I added, it still could have been baked probably 15 minutes less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this with instant rice just to see how it would come out, otherwise I followed the recipe as directed. I was fantastic it was just like mom used to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I am babysitting at my daughter's place and couldn't remember my recipe for this (daughter's favorite dessert :0) )so I thought I would check here. I can't believe this is exactly it. It is not your traditional rice pudding. We never cared for that. We have been eating it this way for years. Sometimes I put more milk and eggs in or use brown sugar or cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Today I am using some cinnamon and dried cherries 'cause we don't have raisins. I think you can pretty much use whatever you feel like using. Thank you for sharing this recipe so I could find it today. :0 )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I made this with brown rice, 1/4 cup of splenda, and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. It was really good. I also used a mixture of sugar and cinnamon for the top instead of nutmeg. Mine had to cook a little longer ( I used a toaster oven, don't know if it had anything to do with it taking longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I liked it very much, because I was looking for a BAKED rice pudding that was not very sweet, not a creamy, stove top rice pudding. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made a few changes, and this turned out great: Oven @ 300. Add 1/4 c sugar, 3 tbsp melted butter/margarine, 1/2 c half & half, and dash of cinnamon to custard mixture. Omit raisins. Sprinkle with cinnamon instead of nutmeg. Bake 30 minutes, stir well, then bake for an additional 15-20 minutes until knife comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I loved this. It is just like the rice pudding my mom used to make. I did add a teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix and added 2 tbsp of melted butter and 1/4 cup additional sugar (as someone else suggested) added the nutmeg in with everything else and then followed the recipe on baking times. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States