Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is wonderful. It's NOT A CREAMY VERSION and if that's what you're looking for then don't make this! If, on the other hand, you're looking for a baked pudding, this is the way to go. I'm not sure how much rice I used, I'm sure it was a tad over what was called for (had Chinese take out last night lol) My favorite part is the custard so I actually used a 9X9 pan which makes it thicker and more custardy. I kept an eye on it after 30 minutes until a knife came out clean. This is exactly like Momma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. Having had dental surgery I needed something soft and nutritious to eat. All I could think about was my grandmother's rice pudding...and here it is! It is exactly the same and a warm bowlful brought back wonderful memories from over 50 years ago. How nice is that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I searched forever to find a recipe for a proper baked rice pudding. This one is absolutely perfect and is now my favorite comfort dessert recipe. My only changes were in the baking process itself; I lightly buttered the baking dish, and baked it in a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a great rice pudding recipe. Just like my Ukrainian Baba used to make. I love it warm with milk poured over top. If you are looking for a creamy rice pudding you need to make a stove top pudding not baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was very good, warm, room temperature or cold. As is or with milk and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just like my mom's!! I grew up on rice pudding like this. I've read that there are two versions, a drier one like this, and a really creamy one...I've never tried the creamy version before, but this one definitely hits the spot. I took the suggestion of other reviews and added an additional 1/4 c. sugar, and 2 tbsp. butter. I also cooked it for 45 mins total, came out fabulous. Only complaint, it was a tad too much vanilla for my taste, so next time I will just cut back on that a bit. Lovin' this recipe, thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I typed in baked rice pudding, and there is this wonderful, basic receipe! I have added my own "extras" to make it mine, but I thank you emtmom for a nice beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is a great easy recipe. I read all the reviews on this being too dry. So I added just a little more milk and an extra egg. My mom made this kind of dry rice pudding when I was little. I do know it is supposed to be dry not creamy, then you put more milk and sugar in your bowl when it is served! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have to agree with a previous post about this being a great recipe because it is dry. This is the kind my mom used to make. It was purposely dry. We would pour half and half or cream over it to our desired consistency. This recipe is wonderful. Don't change a thing. If you want a creamy rice pudding you will have to look at other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Very simple to make. I upped the white sugar from 1/2 c. to 2/3 c. since I like my puddings sweeter, and it was not overly sweet. I also didn't bake it the full hour in my gas oven; I stirred it at 30 mins. into the cooking and it was getting ready to set, so I let it go another 10 minutes. I don't like dry rice pudding. I also substituted light cream for the milk and it was very smooth and had a great mouth-feel, but I would make it next time with whole milk to cut the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States