Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Way too dry...I read all the reviews and added extra water and milk. Still too dry. And the spice put me off. Wasn't at all like Mom used to make. Won't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I add some sliver allmons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Great recepie. tks, jeanot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
Before I made this rice pudding recipe I read almost all the reviews. I then decided to only make TWO changes. 1. add more raisins 2. cinnamon. As a child my mother made a very similar recipe, in which it too was dry, served hot,but we add cold milk and a sprinkle of sugar on top. Overall, I loved this recipe, it's just like my mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Great taste, but drier than the desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This would be a great rice pudding recipe for Japanese cuisine because it isn't very sweet to begin with, but for the american palate this recipe needs too many tweaks to make it good if you go directly from the recipe. Cooking the rice beforehand in just water left the rice very bland. It should be cooked with milk, sugar and cinnamon. This doesn't have a custard consistency, it is more like a binder for rice. It isn't sweet at all. It comes out dry and I didn't leave it in the oven over the time allotted. The look and smell of the finished product was appealing. It's easy to make. It would be good as a breakfast item not a dinner dessert. I made a hard sauce to go with it after tasting a bite of it before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Excellent recipe! I used instant milk instead of regular milk, and allspice instead of nutmeg. I also added a little more water and used a larger pot because the rice I had was low quality. Rice pudding turned out wonderfully. Everyone who had tried it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Very good recipe. This is REAL rice pudding with a custard base; the kind I loved growing up. This far surpasses the more contemporary version of vanilla pudding with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Hi, I think baked rice pudding is really great when you want a really healthy dessert or snack. I know this because my mother has made it for years and till this day i still love baked rice pudding. I want all cooks to try this and everyone should try this and once you've tried it you don't want to stop eating it. Once i tried it i couldn't stop eating it. I ate it for breakfast and sometimes for lunch. I just couldn't stop eating it. It was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States