Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I just made this rice pudding today. I also don't understand the negative reviews. I only changed a couple of things. I used heavy cream instead of milk, used cinnamon 1/4 tsp in addition to nutmeg and added 3 tbsp. of melted butter. Baked for 45 min instead of 1 hour. This tasted just like the baked rice pudding my mother made for me when I was growing up. My mother was from Richmond, VA. This is a baked rice pudding, maybe why this recipe got negative reviews. This recipe came out so creamy and delicious. Absolutely, DELICIOUS. Also this is so easy to make and reminded me of my childhood. I will definitely be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmsikorsk8
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe is awesome. It was exactly what I wanted and the best use for leftover rice! I read through the reviews and I am honestly amazed anyone would think this recipe was not sweet enough. I did happen to use 1/4 cup of dates in place of raisins, because that is what I had on-hand. It turned out wonderfully. Thank you Emtmom for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Wow does this ever take me back. This rice pudding is wonderful. My mom always baked her rice pudding and this recipe is exactly how she made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have tried this recipe and loved it! It reminds me of what I had as a child. I love that it is baked firm and it can be cut with a knife; I would not change a thing. This is how it is done in parts of the south. If you want a wetter looser in texture rice pudding, this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
My family made the baked, dry rice pudding and not the creamy kind. We used an encyclopedia set from the 60s. I don't know what set it was but that is where the original recipe came from. I have memories of making this recipe as a teenager but the encyclopedias are long gone and I never made it again. I found this and took out the raisins, added a bit of sugar and milk and it's perfect. As many others said, there are TWO kinds of rice pudding...baked and drier or creamy. This is the baked and dry and the kind I wanted. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I never liked rice pudding growing up. I'm from NY and every diner would serve awful cold rice pudding as the dessert with your meal. I now live in the south and have found a new appreciation for rice pudding, both baked and the stove top kind! I'm newly engaged, and my fiance's favorite dessert is rice pudding...so I figured I should learn to make it! lol I have my Nana's recipe for stove top rice pudding, it's fabulous, but it uses a whole gallon of milk! I went searching for a recipe that wouldn't have me heading to the store for a whole gallon of milk when I was craving rice pudding, and I found it! I took the advice of other reviewers, which is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5 and it worked out great! I added an extra 1/2 cup milk. I like baked rice pudding a little more like baked custard, so next time I'll add even more milk or take out some rice. I'm sure it would be way too dry without that extra 1/2 cup milk! I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar and it was just the perfect sweetness. I didn't measure the vanilla, just added a good glug(TBP maybe?), but I love vanilla. I didn't have nutmeg, so I used pumpkin pie spice, and extra cinnamon...ok, a lot of cinnamon! lol I cooked this for an hour and a half in a water bath, stirring twice. No rice bricks here! Loved that I didn't have to slave over a hot stove to make this, especially with the heat down here! Thanks so much for the recipe, it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
As suggested, I baked it for 30 min. Very good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very good recipe. It wasn't creamy i hate creamy. This comes close to my mother's recipe more southern of course i added 1 cup of sugar love it sweet. But the recipe came out moist and firm. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Much toooooo dry. Maybe it should not be baked for 30 minutes on the seconbd baking after adding the nutmeg. Plus, what's with not using cinnamon? This spice always goes with rice pudding. I tried this recipe once and that is it. No one liked it in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I'm sure if made as is this would be even better than five stars. Due to Weight Watchers status I used Egg Beaters and Splenda. It still is delicious and really reminds me of my late mothers version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States