Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I think the reason so many people are trying to change this recipe is that there are two styles of rice puuding. This is the dry, baked style, which is very different from the wet , creamy style. This is the kind I grew up with, and the kind that is served in old Southern cafeterias. It is supposed to be baked until dry. It is a great way to use up leftover rice. I made this with 3 cups leftover cooked rice, followed the recipe exactly , except added cinamon, and increased the raisins. It was great. Exactly what I wanted. Serve warm with a little cream, or cold.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My son and I are big fans of rice pudding maybe because you bake it, it was like rice soup so I baked it longer and it came out dry, no taste and don't think I will be making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My husband says this was probably the best rice pudding he's ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I ADDED MORE SUGAR AND USED CARNATION EVAPORATED CAN MILK INSTEAD OF REGULAR MILK. OVERALL THIS IS A GOOD SOLID RICE PUDDING RECIPE AND VERY YUMMY !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I made this with some changes. I used two cups of cooked rice I had in the fridge from the night before. I upped the milk to 2 1/2 cups. I used 1/4 brown sugar and 1/2 regular. I also used cinn., nutmeg, and all spice about a tsp of each. I cooked in water bath for 1 1/2 hours and stirred at each half hour (twice) to distribute the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I changed this a little...I added more sugar, no nutmug and added ground cinnimon and more raisens and baked 40 minutes uncover and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Cook 2 cups of rice first, instead of 1.Put in 2/3 cup sugar, a pinch of cinnamon along with the nutmeg and put your baking dish into a pan of water to cook both in the oven for an hour. If you put your baking dish in a pan of water, then the pudding stays moist but keeps its form when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I was looking for something that would be like what my mom used to make for me and this tastes like it! loved it, very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
OMG! this was the best rice pudding i have ever had in my life! I HAVE TO GIVE IT 5 STARS! BUT REMEMBER ONLY COOK IT FOR 30 MINUTES OR IT WILL BE WAY TO DRY! My daughter loved this recipe i would pack it for her and her friend for lunch her friend was in love with it to! IM TOTALLY GOING TO MAKE THIS AGAIN MY FAMILY WILL LOVE IT! thanks so much for this recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe! Very nice, yet I also added a Tablespoon of butter to add gloss and density. I also changed the milk quantity by adding 1 cup of milk only and 1 cup of cream. I also chopped up 2 Bananas and added them and reduced the cooking time by 30 in the oven. I seved it straight away with whipped cream and a scoop of caramel ice-cream. Very very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alimay

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States