Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Not very creamy - it tasted okay but I was looking for a recipe with more custard. It was actually kind of blah - needed something - maybe more eggs & milk (or cream). Probably wouldn't make it again. Still searching for the perfect baked rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
It came out really good and my kids love it. I will be makin that again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
taste was good but VERY DRY!! I would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I decided to try this even after reading some of the bad reviews. This is a great recipe. I only changed it a little bit to make it taste like my great grandmothers who was born and raised in Mississippi and will turn 108 this October. Cooked the rice in milk, butter and 1/2 cup sugar. I used 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 cream, 2 tbsp butter, I only had cinnamon and increased the sugar to 1 cup. This is a very southern traditional rice pudding not the soupy/creamy kind they make in northern states. My kids loved it so much they took some to school for their snack. Not for dieters that's for sure. Works well with soy milk for those who are lactose intolerant. I used vanilla flavored.(second try) Oh and don't forget to spray or butter the dish!!! I will certainly be making this for my Big Momma as a birthday gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Great recipe!!! My grandmother always added coconut to her pudding. So I cooked the rice with 1 cup of coconut milk and 1 cup of water. I added leftover shredded coconut, approx 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 cup of extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margie
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a perfect baked rice pudding recipe. The only things i did different were add more raisins and I used canned milk because i had a can I had to use. Did everything else exactly as stated. It is the closest to my Grandma's recipe I have tried. Nice and firm and not too sweet - it is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
this was good, but I like my rice pudding a little creamier....maybe 1/2 a cup more milk and a little less cooking time - but that's just personal preference. with a little whipping cream on top, this pudding is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
To all of you who thought it wasn't creamy enough - it's a baked pudding. You're supposed to be able to cut it. If you want "creamy", look for rice pudding recipes cooked on the stove top. I thought it was fabulous. Took me back to my grandmother's kitchen. Can't wait to try different variations. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I used 1/4 cup Splenda instead of 1/2 cup Sugar and it was plenty sweet enough....Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Wonderful! Just like my mom and grandma used to make! Had 2 bowls of it for my supper....lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States