Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I had a taste for rice pudding this morning so I called but unfortunately missed my mom before she left for work, so I couldn't get her recipe. So I logged on and found this one and I must say...Almost perfect!!!!! And the only reason I say almost is because it's not my mama's, but it is close and so delicious! I can't wait for my son to wake up from his nap to give him a taste! It is firm (as I believe rice pudding should be...well at least the kind I like) and lots of flavor. I added cinnamon and nutmeg to the mixing bowl because that's how my mom does it and the two just do something to my taste buds! Thanks for the delicious recipe! SN: if you are looking for the creamy or soupy rice pudding recipe this is NOT it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I just made this and added only a 1/4 tsp cinnamon. I also mixed the nutmeg & cinnamon in with cornstarch misture.. it gets mixed around anyways after 30min of baking... very good & thick.. the way grandma use to make it... this is a thick cut & serve kind.. good served warm... not the milky add whip cream & serve in a cold dish kind..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I also made this for our traditional Christmas Eve dinner. It was so much like my Grandmother's. My son loved it. He is in his forties and loves all the old traditions. We add cream over our portion and this takes it over the top in flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe just needs to be baked in a dish of hot water. I make it every week it is delicious, especially for my 2 year old daughter who loves it hot or cold, ps. I only use 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is the recipe I have been looking for! It is just like my mom's rice pudding. I soaked the raisins in 2 Tablespoons of rum for a few minutes before I added them into the mixture. I reserved the rum, to drizzle over the top of the pudding during the last few minutes of baking. It was a delight! Husband loved it! This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Finnegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
A classic southern-style rice pudding. I made a few personal tweaks but nothing too serious. Works very well and produces what you'd expect. My grandmother told me I could bring her more of that any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is BAKED rice pudding, just like my mother used to make. It is supposed to be dry, not runny and soupy! I made this and only changed from using nutmeg to using cinnamon. It was FANTASTIC! Just like my mother used to make. Everybody who was worthy of getting a piece of it said this was the old fashioned comfort food type that they remembered their grandmother used to make! It put a smile on everyone's face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I agree with spdavies. I grew up in ireland and this was the first dessert I made myself. this is close as Mrs Beetons old school recipe and this turns out pretty similar to that so I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
It was so nasty, No one in my family liked it and I wasted the ingredients on it. It's not sweet and doesn't have flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is the rice pudding I was raised on. The creamy kind is too much like tapioca pudding. I do add about a half cup more of milk than this recipe calls for but other wise it's great. When you want to eat it, you cut a piece out, put it in a bowl and nuke it. Then add about a half a cup of milk to it, and eat. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States