Baked Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I also made this for our traditional Christmas Eve dinner. It was so much like my Grandmother's. My son loved it. He is in his forties and loves all the old traditions. We add cream over our portion and this takes it over the top in flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe just needs to be baked in a dish of hot water. I make it every week it is delicious, especially for my 2 year old daughter who loves it hot or cold, ps. I only use 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is the recipe I have been looking for! It is just like my mom's rice pudding. I soaked the raisins in 2 Tablespoons of rum for a few minutes before I added them into the mixture. I reserved the rum, to drizzle over the top of the pudding during the last few minutes of baking. It was a delight! Husband loved it! This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Finnegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
A classic southern-style rice pudding. I made a few personal tweaks but nothing too serious. Works very well and produces what you'd expect. My grandmother told me I could bring her more of that any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This is BAKED rice pudding, just like my mother used to make. It is supposed to be dry, not runny and soupy! I made this and only changed from using nutmeg to using cinnamon. It was FANTASTIC! Just like my mother used to make. Everybody who was worthy of getting a piece of it said this was the old fashioned comfort food type that they remembered their grandmother used to make! It put a smile on everyone's face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I agree with spdavies. I grew up in ireland and this was the first dessert I made myself. this is close as Mrs Beetons old school recipe and this turns out pretty similar to that so I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
It was so nasty, No one in my family liked it and I wasted the ingredients on it. It's not sweet and doesn't have flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is the rice pudding I was raised on. The creamy kind is too much like tapioca pudding. I do add about a half cup more of milk than this recipe calls for but other wise it's great. When you want to eat it, you cut a piece out, put it in a bowl and nuke it. Then add about a half a cup of milk to it, and eat. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I made this but did a few things differently...added a cinnamon stick to the boiling water of the rice, remove when rice is done. Omitted the 1/2 C. sugar and added a can of sweetened condensed milk in place of it for sweetness, but if you prefer more sweetness just leave the sugar in as well. I baked it in a water bath but had to bake about 15 min. longer with doing so. I must tell you...this was about the best rice pudding I have ever had! It came out to perfection, was not dry at all! The sweetened condensed milk and water bath I believe may have helped the dryness issues that others were experiencing. And it formed this nice little custard like topping, not sure if the sweetened condensed milk did this but it was so yummy and I can't stop eating it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pen
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good baked rice pudding recipe. As mentioned by others, this style of rice pudding is supposed to be dry. Like the recipe says, an inserted knife should come out clean when it's done. This recipe firmed up perfectly. Serve it warm with some milk, or light cream, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. (Don't mix cinnamon in the recipe before cooking or it will turn an unappealling muddy colour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States