Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by jasi
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I couldn't measure 190g of flour so I used nearly 2 cups,1 cup of mashed roast pumpkin leftover from a roast pork dinner with some homemade apple sauce,I don't have baking soda so left that out and couldnt measure 6g so I put 2 teaspns of baking powder,instead of buttermilk I used 1/2 Cup milk with a little lemon juice,1/2 cup brown sugar(220g seemed alot if im claiming it to be healthy)I guessed cinnamon because I couldnt measure 2g I put 1 teaspn,1/2teaspn ground ginger and 1/4 teaspn ground cloves.I baked it in a loaf tin that is more like 8 1/2x4 1/2 Inches than 9x5 and it took about 35mins at 180C (not an hour).Looks and tastes good.I give the receipe 3 stars because I found I had to guess some of the quatities and so I felt I had to take a risk.It's our first try at pumpkin bread and I think it won't be our last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great recipe, it turns out super moist every time! Sometimes I substitute 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg. I've also used 1/2-3/4 cup whole wheat flour with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I also use A little Ginger & Allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Spices were a little too strong, but it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I am giving this recipe 5 stars with the following modifications: whole wheat flour, and almost a full can of pumpkin. It is nice and moist, and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My boyfriend loves pumpkin bread so I tried this recipe. I've made it twice in three days. He says it's the best pumpkin bread he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
quick and delicious! i substituted milk for buttermilk, it was what i had on hand, i used 3/4 all purpose flour and 3/4 whole wheat, i added a 1/2 tsp of ginger and made minimuffins (baked at 350 for 15 mins) and they came out perfect!! so yum! i think i will only use 1/2 tsp of salt next time, but they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I specifically searched for pumpkin bread knowing I had half a can left-over from the holidays. After sifting my dry ingredients, imagine my surprise when I pulled my pumpkin out of the fridge and only had about 1/2 a cup! Oh, well - I was already this far into the recipe, so I mashed two bananas, added my little bit of pumpkin and hoped for the best. My husband and son said it's the best bread I have ever made! I never told them it was also low-fat (I used lite country crock in place of the softened butter for even less fat & calories). I will definately be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It was very good with raisins. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4c which worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Delicious! I crumbled brown sugar on top before baking. Multiple compliments on this one... One warning: a loaf doesn't last long - it is too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States