Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by jasi
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I couldn't measure 190g of flour so I used nearly 2 cups,1 cup of mashed roast pumpkin leftover from a roast pork dinner with some homemade apple sauce,I don't have baking soda so left that out and couldnt measure 6g so I put 2 teaspns of baking powder,instead of buttermilk I used 1/2 Cup milk with a little lemon juice,1/2 cup brown sugar(220g seemed alot if im claiming it to be healthy)I guessed cinnamon because I couldnt measure 2g I put 1 teaspn,1/2teaspn ground ginger and 1/4 teaspn ground cloves.I baked it in a loaf tin that is more like 8 1/2x4 1/2 Inches than 9x5 and it took about 35mins at 180C (not an hour).Looks and tastes good.I give the receipe 3 stars because I found I had to guess some of the quatities and so I felt I had to take a risk.It's our first try at pumpkin bread and I think it won't be our last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great recipe, it turns out super moist every time! Sometimes I substitute 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg. I've also used 1/2-3/4 cup whole wheat flour with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I also use A little Ginger & Allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Spices were a little too strong, but it was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I am giving this recipe 5 stars with the following modifications: whole wheat flour, and almost a full can of pumpkin. It is nice and moist, and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
My boyfriend loves pumpkin bread so I tried this recipe. I've made it twice in three days. He says it's the best pumpkin bread he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
quick and delicious! i substituted milk for buttermilk, it was what i had on hand, i used 3/4 all purpose flour and 3/4 whole wheat, i added a 1/2 tsp of ginger and made minimuffins (baked at 350 for 15 mins) and they came out perfect!! so yum! i think i will only use 1/2 tsp of salt next time, but they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I specifically searched for pumpkin bread knowing I had half a can left-over from the holidays. After sifting my dry ingredients, imagine my surprise when I pulled my pumpkin out of the fridge and only had about 1/2 a cup! Oh, well - I was already this far into the recipe, so I mashed two bananas, added my little bit of pumpkin and hoped for the best. My husband and son said it's the best bread I have ever made! I never told them it was also low-fat (I used lite country crock in place of the softened butter for even less fat & calories). I will definately be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
It was very good with raisins. I also decreased the sugar to 3/4c which worked for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Delicious! I crumbled brown sugar on top before baking. Multiple compliments on this one... One warning: a loaf doesn't last long - it is too yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States