Baked Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I was looking for a low fat, lower calorie pumpkin bread and this fit the bill. Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! I did make some adjustments to suite my tastes. I added 1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice, 1 teaspoon of honey and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also did not need to leave my loaf in the oven the entire 60 minutes, as the recipe called for - mine was good to go around 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! It was sooo moist, tasty, and wonderful! Instead of buttermilk I used 2% milk because it was all I had on hand. I also just used one cup of canned pumpkin pie mix and skipped the nutmeg. SOOO good and I will definitely be making this again very soon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaylee
Living In: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
One of the best, moist pumpkin breads that we have had. This was gone the day I made it, and I still can't believe that it only has 2 tablespoons of butter. I was about 2 tablespoons short of buttermilk, so I added in appplesauce to make up the difference. This baked up beautifully, with a slightly brown crust that was a little crunchy around the edges. This bread was wonderful by itself, but we spread on some cream cheese frosting to a few slices and wanted to bake another loaf to finish off the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very good bread with a nice texure. After putting it in the oven I realized I forgot to add the butter. The bread was marvelous without it and provided an opportunity to splurge by adding butter to a warm slice! I followed suggestions by others and added an additional 1/3 cup pumpkin and used 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This bread was wayyyy too salty and tasted bland. Needed more pumpkin and spice flavors. Moist, but will not make again, unless make my own embellishments to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This bread is always a huge hit and never lasts more than a day in our house! I have made this exactly as specified, as well as with double pumpkin. It always turns out wonderfully, no matter how I make it. I always use the milk and lemon juice substitution for buttermilk as that is not something I buy. I have found that I usually need to bake for at least an hour and 15 minutes, more if I have increased the pumpkin in the recipe. I will be making this bread for many years to come; thanks for the great recipe JJOHN32!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
OH MY GOSH. I made this recipe a second time with 1/3 c. more pumpkin, a bit of added ginger, cloves, and vanilla, oil instead of butter, and a handful of chocolate chips. THIS IS AMAZING- my new favorite recipe for pumpkin bread! With the extra pumpkin, it does take an extra 5 minutes of baking but is SUPER moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I realize that there's a lot of opposition to rating a recipe to which you have made significant changes, and I understand why. However I enjoy reading about what changes other cooks have made, it gives me inspiration. If you don't agree you may want to stop reading now (no hard feelings, I swear). I substituted half of the white flour with wheat flour. I used about 1 and 1/3 cups of real pumpkin puree, substituted 2/3's of a cup of Agave Nectar in place of the 1 cup of brown sugar and used 2 tsps of pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices. I made buttermilk from 1% milk by adding one half a tbsp of white vinegar to the 1/2 cup of milk, stirred and let sit for five minutes. I baked the bread in muffin tins at 325 for 25 minutes. Yes the five stars are based on my version but I have no doubt the original recipe was just as yummy, and by making these simple changes the calorie count was further reduced to about 110 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times. I take it to alot of fall and winter get togethers and everyone just loves it. They are surprised to find out that it is low in fat and not one bit dry! Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States