Baked Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was my first attempt at making pretzels. I followed the instructions; however, I did take the advice of other viewer. I added the additional step of boiling the pretzels in water (8cups) and baking soda (1/2cup) prior to baking them in the oven. Oh! Also, I added 1 Tbl of melted butter to the egg wash. I baked for 18.5 minutes. I enjoyed this recipe very much! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPMsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Will make often. Followed the boil process thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
More like bread sticks than pretzels, but delicious! Quite a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mc Graw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I found this recipe very easy and quite tasty, with one change: Boil the pretzels before baking. I followed the suggestions of other reviews, made the recipe to a T, then dropped the pretzels in boiling water + baking soda for about 30 seconds. They came out great! Moist, soft with a nice brown crust. The kids loved helping make the shapes and it was an easy and fun Sunday snack. Would do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
My husband and I loved these! On of the traditions we are starting is that on one of his days off for the week we will eat only appetizers. Monday we started the day with buffalo wings, and had these soft pretzels for dinner! We ate the entire batch, they are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
awesome! These turned out great. I did make half as many pretzels and boiled a minute in water/baking soda like one user suggested. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Tasted more like breadsticks but were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdean509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was dissapointed with this pretzle recipe due to the lask of flavor and softness. I love the big soft pretzles you get at the mall and these were not any where near close. If you prefer the taste of traditional hard pretzles then these are definitely for you though!!! They are some what chewy and the beer gives it an authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have to wonder if people leaving negative reviews expected boiled pretzels. The leathery, really chewy taste of pretzels is usually because the pretzels have been boiled before baking. It is essentially the same process for bagels as it is for pretzels: boil water and baking soda, and boil the pretzel for approximately 30 sec-1 min in the boiling water, then transfer to a baking sheet and bake as directed. That will get you the chewiness a lot of us expect from pretzels. These are a decent, basic pretzel that are so easy bc they are made in the bread machine. You could also make these in the Kitchen Aid mixer as well. I like the slicing part of this recipe--I didn't even bother rolling the slices and they baked up beautifully. I didn't want to do an egg wash, so I used water and then broiled for about a minute to get a darker crust. These are pretzels you want to serve with mustard or butter for dipping--as written, they are a bit bland. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
These were super yummy and easy to make. I didn't have any beer on hand so I used some leftover wine and topped the rest of the cup off with water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States