Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Recipe is great if you have a lot of time to spare. My mother taught me to make potatoes fast and they come out just the same. 1.Poke a bunch of holes on each potatoe with a fork (to make sure they dont explode) 2. Put in microwave for 10 minutes (3-8 potatoes) (7 minutes for 1-2 potatoes) 3. With an oven mit take the potatoes out of the microwave and wrap in tinfoil individually and place in a preheated oven at 375. 4. Bake 20 minutes or until soft and squishey. (You can check the potatoes with an oven mit on to see if they are cooked and squishey enough to eat. 5. Garnish with what ever you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Good recipe for beginning cooks. Variations are to wrap potato in foil for a tender jacket, or to rub Pam or Olive Oil on potato jacket and sprinkle seasonings and/or sea salt on the outside for a tasty and tough jacket. You can also bake at 400 degrees for 40 - 60 minutes. Baking time will vary on size and number of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1020 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Nice recipe when you have 1.5 hrs to bake them. My version is similar, but much quicker and the potato is fluffy and never 'hard'. I cut the ends off the potato and prick with a fork, then I microwave them first, but ONLY until they are tender but still very firm when you insert a sharp knife. Then I bake them about 15-20 mins. at 350* until skins are dry and the potato is very tender. Then the KEY to my famous baked potatoes is this: *After removing from the oven take each one and squish it a bit by lightly squeezing it between a towel because they are so hot! The result is the potato becomes crumbly and fluffy and then lather on the toppings! People LOVE my bakers. Try it! (By the way I normally HATE microwaved potatoes, but by baking these after starting in the microwave they are superb!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
708 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i disagree with some of the reviews! if someone does not have anyone to teach them how to cook and make a baked potato then this was very helpful! i've never cooked a potato in the oven so i needed to find out myself without asking! and this was great help! so thank you for putting this small & easy recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This recipie has times and temperatures and everything. Perfect for those of us unsure how to actually cooked a baked potato. Hint: if you are interested in a crusty peel, put your potato directly in the oven. If you like a softer covering, cover it in foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Blah, tasted nothing like a potato, maybe I used the wrong fork? Next time I will use a dessert fork. :oP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Thank you, I already knew how to make baked potatoes, but I was able to print this out for my husband. They turned out really good. The only thing I like to add is if you rub the skins with oil and sprinkle with salt they get crispy like in restuarants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Your Basic Great Baked Potato! Before you cook it, roll the wet potato in some salt, pepper, all season, and garlic powder. This makes the skin taste so so good! Stuff it with some brocolli and corn, I'll never go back to microwaves again. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I haven't done this in years, as I'm so used to doing them on the grill anymore - my husband really wanted that "old school" way of a baked potato from the oven tonight so I though I'd indulge him. It was soooo good - especially with all the fixen's: butter, salt, pepper, bacon bits, chives, and a little sour cream! Great classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
The potatoes came out perfect. I first sprayed the potatoes with PAM and seasoned them with seasoning salt and cajun seasonings then wrapped them in tin foil. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ramer-Bozzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States