Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Nice recipe when you have 1.5 hrs to bake them. My version is similar, but much quicker and the potato is fluffy and never 'hard'. I cut the ends off the potato and prick with a fork, then I microwave them first, but ONLY until they are tender but still very firm when you insert a sharp knife. Then I bake them about 15-20 mins. at 350* until skins are dry and the potato is very tender. Then the KEY to my famous baked potatoes is this: *After removing from the oven take each one and squish it a bit by lightly squeezing it between a towel because they are so hot! The result is the potato becomes crumbly and fluffy and then lather on the toppings! People LOVE my bakers. Try it! (By the way I normally HATE microwaved potatoes, but by baking these after starting in the microwave they are superb!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
704 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Thanks for the simple step-by-step approach. You can wrap in foil, cover with oil/salt/pepper, as well. Use your common sense. It is implied that the potato is 'medium' size, not tiny or the world's largest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
It's great to see a recipe like this one. A lot of people assume that this sort of thing is common knowledge, but it really isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Good recipe for beginning cooks. Variations are to wrap potato in foil for a tender jacket, or to rub Pam or Olive Oil on potato jacket and sprinkle seasonings and/or sea salt on the outside for a tasty and tough jacket. You can also bake at 400 degrees for 40 - 60 minutes. Baking time will vary on size and number of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1009 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I have been trying to figure out the baked potato for some time, never getting it quite right. I made these last night and they were PERFECT! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Nice and easy to follow. If you're making baked potatoes to eat by themselves, do them in the oven always. They taste so much better. Definitely brush with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt. If you need baked potatoes to cook with (for example for twice baked or potato soup) I recommend cooking in the microwave on a paper towel for 3-5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Good recipe. Try brushig with olive oil and sprinkling wth kosher salt before you wrap with aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
The best potato I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
Brush some oil and salt on the skin before cooking and they will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I was taught to put foil on the potato and then bake. I think this is a better way to bake a potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States