Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe turned out fabulous, with some tweeks! I baked the potatos the day before and I used 6 large potatos. I then sauteed half an onion, some baby carrots and a clove of garlic in butter; they were all diced. Puree those once you are finished. I then followed the recipe for the butter, flour, adding the 6 cups milk and whisking until thick. I then added my potatos, which I chopped, so the soup was chunky- but small chunks and the cheese etc. also then add the onion, carrot mix at this point. Let the soup get mixed and warm-then pop it in the fridge until ready to serve. When ready to serve heat up the pot on the stove (soup will be thick) add 2 cups of chicken broth and the sour cream (I used a little less than the 8 ounces). It will be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great soup! My husband has me making this almost weekly! Only adjustment I made was to cook bacon and then add part of the grease in place of the butter. I have also used 2% milk, low fat sour cream and 2% cheese....still tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
It almost tastes like your eating a really yummy cheesy baked potato. But I used turkey bacon, which for the future I think you need to cook it and then crumble it and fry again so it stays extra crispy. I also used 2% milk and I would wager to say you can drop down to 1% milk with no issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Yum! So easy to make and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious. I only made a couple of changes. Added one minced onion to the butter and sautéed. After I put in the milk and potatoes, I put half in the blender to puree. Added it back to the rest of the soup. That made it thick without adding flour. I did add a tbs of chicken "better than Bouillon" to enhance the flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Super thick! I even halved the milk and used half chicken broth thinking it would thin it out a little since so many of the reviews commented on how thick it is. Next time I think I'll leave out a couple of the potatoes. Tastes fantastic though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is an absolutely FANTASTIC recipe! It's easy to make and really delicious just the way it is. The possible additions are as numerous as your taste buds: steamed broccoli, sauteed mushrooms, pretty much anything you would put on a baked potato. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I love this soup just as thick and chunky as it is. I like to add ham chunks it adds some flavor and meat to the dish which in our house is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
this soup was really good but the directions for the potatoes is awful! it's a pain and it's messy. next time i make this i will just cube & boil them. other than that the soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tosha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This soup was awesome! I used skim milk, light sour cream, and real bacon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amwmomofsix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States