Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've made this twice and both times it was just ok. My kids love it but it's a bit bland for my taste. Yes it is thick....the person who posted even says it's thick in her description. I used skim milk since that's what my family drinks. I think whole would have made it too heavy (well, heavier than it is already) The prep is longer than 15 min. I used 5 very large potatos which equaled about 9 regular and it took 40 minutes for them to cook in the microwave. I cooked 3 for 2o and then 2 for 20. While those cooked I made the bacon, diced green onion and shredded the cheese. From start to finish it took me about and hour and a half. If you can cook your potatos ahead of time, the prep will be much faster. Great for the kids since a lot of kids don't like a ton of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Tried this tonight. Made a half recipe for my boyfriend and I. Didn't have enough milk, so I added 4 ounces of cream cheese and 1 1/3 cups of chicken broth instead of the last cup of milk! Accidentally forgot the sour cream, but it didn't matter. Best home made potato soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My family absolutely loves this recipe. It is so easy to make too!! I'll make variations of it like using red potatoes or adding sauteed onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julzygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Not bad! It turned out to be a kind of a cream soup for me. I used turkey bacon, but unfortunately I didn't have cheddar cheese or chives, though I'm sure it would have made it fantastic. It came out really thick, as other people have stated, but adding some extra milk would definitely help thin it out. Anyway it kept us full and made a lovely quick new years eve dish. I'll problably make it again, thanks TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have made a recipe like this for many years. I dont use as many potatoes, maybe about 5 med ones, i do prefer the Yukon gold. Also, i use at least 7 cups of milk so as not too thick. You can also use light sour cream to help with calories, i have not tried fat free yet. I am not sure how skim milk would be, i am afraid it would make it too thin, so i do use 2 percent. And lastly, i do use about a pound of bacon crumbled. It is an absolutly delicious soup, esp on a cold night !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Simple and easy. I make with my grand daughter that loves to cook. It's our Christmas tradition. Yes, it's tick... but I love a soup I can stand a spoon up in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Wohllaib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This recipe turned out fabulous, with some tweeks! I baked the potatos the day before and I used 6 large potatos. I then sauteed half an onion, some baby carrots and a clove of garlic in butter; they were all diced. Puree those once you are finished. I then followed the recipe for the butter, flour, adding the 6 cups milk and whisking until thick. I then added my potatos, which I chopped, so the soup was chunky- but small chunks and the cheese etc. also then add the onion, carrot mix at this point. Let the soup get mixed and warm-then pop it in the fridge until ready to serve. When ready to serve heat up the pot on the stove (soup will be thick) add 2 cups of chicken broth and the sour cream (I used a little less than the 8 ounces). It will be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great soup! My husband has me making this almost weekly! Only adjustment I made was to cook bacon and then add part of the grease in place of the butter. I have also used 2% milk, low fat sour cream and 2% cheese....still tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
It almost tastes like your eating a really yummy cheesy baked potato. But I used turkey bacon, which for the future I think you need to cook it and then crumble it and fry again so it stays extra crispy. I also used 2% milk and I would wager to say you can drop down to 1% milk with no issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Yum! So easy to make and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States