Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Really good, but I changed it up a bit. I didn't have 9 potatoes, so I used 5. Used 6 cups of 1% milk instead of whole, and 2 cups of fat free half & half. Used 2% cheddar, and low fat sour cream. Soup takes a long time to thicken, but after you add potatoes, you can mash a few to thicken, plus it will thicken overnight in fridge. Best served with cheddar bay biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriRBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was super yummy! I made about 1/3 of the recipe to feed just my husband and I (with a few extra potatoes - mine were on the small side). I added some yellow onion when I added the milk (used 1%) which I think was a huge boost in taste. And I didn't have any bacon so I microwaved some peperoni to make it crispy and used it instead. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The whole family loved this- even my youngest who is very picky! Only a couple tweaks- I used 6 potatoes, chopping 4 and grating 2. I also grated a carrot to add color. Thanks for a new staple meal for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This soup was fantastic! Couple things to change though: When mixing in the milk (I used 1% for a healthier option) with the flour, I noticed that the milk was not thickening! All I did was add the potatoes and the rest of the ingredients and put the lid on and viola! The starch from the potatoes thickened the soup. Another problem was that I was in a bit of a rush and I therefore didn't microwave the potatoes, instead I let them boil in the soup mix when I added them! Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Thank you for the base of the soup. Made this gluten free by using GF flour and a tablespoon of arrow root. Made the rough, added a diced yellow onion, sauteed for a few minutes and added some minced garlic. Baked the potatoes in the over for an hour prior to beginning. Lastly subbed out a cup of milk (1%) with a cup of homemade vegetable stock. I cook a lot and normally need to tweak recipes. This was a really good one and only required a few changes for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Amazing!! Just made it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is sooooo good! I used skim milk and still came out nice and thick! Don't know if it matters but I used white potatoes. Also, used an extra teaspoon of pepper and a couple dashes of cajun seasoning since we like our foods spicier. This is company worthy and will definitely be making this again!!!! Better than restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Best potatoe soup-ever! I made a few tweaks. The potatoes I had were small so I doubled up. I didn't have as much chicken broth on hand and did 1 cup chicken broth, 6 cups of milk and the viscosity of the soup was perfect. I used fellow reviewer's tip of adding a celery stalk, carrot and onion. But I grilled them up using same pan I used for bacon and used the juices from the bacon with veggies. Plus...I added cream cheese (about 4 oz) and a little Parmesan cheese. I did use low fat for sour cream and cream cheese to curb some calories. I always appreciate everyones' reviews and tips, so I wanted to be a contributor. Enjoy-perfect for a cold fall day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Thick and yummy! I did use real bacon and added the bacon grease into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
My family loved this recipe! Was easy and did not take to take long to make. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States