Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Cutiepie0104
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was a good Soup recipe, instead of throwing the potatoes in the microwave, I chopped and boiled the potatoes. The soup recipe seemed a little bland So I also added 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder, 1/2 tsp Onion powder 2 minced cloves of Garlic & One Medium White onioin. everything turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the best potato soup I have ever had! Wonderful! Very thick and rich but that is the way I like my soup. I made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Wow! What a delicious recipe. I did use 1'/. Milk instead of whole and fat free sour cream, added extra pepper since we like zing, a little onion salt and parsley..perfect for our cold fall days in the great Northwest. This will definitely be a fall and winter staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickalena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We love this soup. I followed one of the reviews and sauteed one grated carrot, some chopped celery, 2 garlic cloves sliced and 1/2 chopped onion in the butter. Only used 1/2 cup butter, and 1/2 cup flour. Used 2 cups chicken broth and 4 cups 2% milk. Pureed vegetables, leaving butter in pan to thicken flour. Pureed 1/2 the potates in the chicken broth and left some in chunks. This soup will be a regular recipe in our house. Didn't want to cook the bacon so we had it without and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susanctr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mona, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My family LOVES this soup. I make it several times during the fall/winter. I just made a batch for the teachers at my daughter's school. I usually bake the potatoes the night before or earlier in the day and then after they cool off, I peel & cube. I think it keeps the soup from getting gummy as some reviewers mentioned. Will try 2% milk next time per other reviewers suggestions as that is normally what I have in my fridge. Love this thick soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The best potato soup I have ever had. I used real butter, 1% milk, and Tillamok fat-free sour cream and it is just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I tripled this soup for a luncheon and it went like wildfire! My family loves this soup, thank you so much for the recipe. I didn't add any green onions or bacon to the soup, just left them as toppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I would love to give ths 5 stars, but I changed it slightly...I cooked the potatoes in chicken broth in my crock pot, then added the roux and milk, along with some bacon and green onion. It was the BEST potato soup I have ever made, or eaten. It tasted just like a steakhouse potato soup. This will be a staple this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shafersgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is just the best soup. I've been making it for years and just now got around to reviewing and taking a photo of it. I usually use 2% milk instead of whole milk and I think I've even made it with skim, but we like the 2% version. It's still rich and thick, but with less fat than whole milk. Otherwise, this soup is perfect as is! Serve this with a salad for a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
For 2/3 of the milk, I used skim, and for the remaining 1/3, I used water (to make it less fatty). I think next time, I will do as other reviewers suggested and use chicken broth instead of the water. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee. Be careful to cook the potatoes enough, ours were a little bit harder than we would've liked. Overall, it was very good though. Didn't make the best leftovers in my opinion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States