Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because its a great starter recipe. Taking the advice of other users I fried bacon to start, then used the bacon grease to sautee carrot, celery, onions and garlic. I also used a french onion sour cream and added that to the soup once the recipe calls for it. All in all this came out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted great, but VERY heavy. (as if you couldn't tell by looking at the ingredients) Hearty winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjacko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This soup was very easy to make. I am glad I read some of the previous posters comments. The soup is VERY thick and I ended up using chicken broth to help thin it out a bit. I didn't use whole milk, since we drink 2% that's what I used. I also used light sour cream but stuck with the regular cheddar cheese. I also back the salt down to 1 1/2 teaspoons since the bacon has enough salt in it anyway. I used my dutch oven pot since I knew it wasn't all going to fit in my largest sauce pan. Big hit with the family. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for Ladies Night Out at my place and everyone enjoyed. This is a keeper! Fantastic recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Super. I did make a few changes. I took the advice of others and used skim milk. I used low fat sour cream and only 4 large potatos. I also added a large onion, which I sauteed in the butter. We still thought it was too thick, so I added about a cup of chicken stock, which was an ingredient I saw in the restaurant-quality baked potato soup. I also stole a couple other things from that recipe and added 1/2 teaspoon dried basil and 1/8 tsp thyme. This is creamy, cheese and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Although I did not follow the instructions at all for this recipe, I loved the concept and combination of ingredients. Awesome soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent!!! Added all the ingredients in without keeping any for topping and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brossard, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Delish! I did add a little more salt and used 2% instead of whole milk. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
YUMM!! I used fat free sour cream and skim milk to cut down on some of the calories as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Make with bacon and shallots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States