Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I pretty much follow the recipe i add a little more bacon and cheese into my soup. Also! I split the milk quantity in half...i use 3 cups of milk and 3 cups of chicken broth. It gives it a little more flavour! This is the best baked potato soup I have ever had! My whole family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Its a good base, wish I would've read the reviews sooner. Although I halved the recipe I still ended up using a whole quart of milk and still needed chicken stock. Made better Mashed Potatoes than soup. Rather tasteless too. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is by far the best baked potatoe soup reciepe I've tried, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was very good. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it was too thick--even though I added extra milk at the end. Also, I cut the recipe down to 4 servings instead of 12. I see other reviewers added chicken broth instead of milk. Another alternative maybe would be to cut the thickening agent in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great Recipe. I made a couple of alterations. I added an additional cup of milk to thin it out a little bit. I also doubled the bacon and used half of it in the soup for a little bit more flavor. Prep before you begin and always use oven baked potatoes this soup comes together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had a a little more than half of a bag of organic red potatoes I needed to use or lose. Perfect time to make potato soup. Because I'm watching my weight/carb count, I used mostly organic chicken broth in place of the milk (1/4 cup of fat free half-n-half was plenty and I used a one-32 ounce carton of broth), turkey bacon in place of the real bacon and I cut the cheese and sour cream by at least half. I added chives, garlic and onion to my potato soup, too, for more flavor. That's not reflective of the recipe, it's just something to lighten it up for me and make the recipe more personal. If you are short on time, the potatoes and broth can go into your crockpot and cook away on high for a couple hours until the potatoes are fork tender. Then, you either mash it with a potato masher (for a chunkier soup) or puree it with a immersion blender (for a thinner soup) and add all your bacon bits, onions, cheese and sour cream before serving. The great thing about potato soup is it's super bendable to whatever your dietary/budget needs or time restraints are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
it came out very thick, it is perfect for my family, I love soup but it's difficult for my 2 year old to eat, she actually ate this with her spoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but I felt like it was missing something. I didn't really care for it but my family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because its a great starter recipe. Taking the advice of other users I fried bacon to start, then used the bacon grease to sautee carrot, celery, onions and garlic. I also used a french onion sour cream and added that to the soup once the recipe calls for it. All in all this came out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted great, but VERY heavy. (as if you couldn't tell by looking at the ingredients) Hearty winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjacko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States