Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Excellent soup. I used non-fat milk, lower fat cheese and light sour cream. And I kept adding milk to it to thin it out during cooking (definitely no need for whole milk.) I added more black pepper, no salt (didn't need it) and used real bacon pieces. I also cut up about half the potatoes into chunks and the rest I chopped more finely. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
AWESOME! I served this for Bunko and the ladies all loved it and asked for the recipe! The first batch I made I followed recipe exactly except for leaving out the bacon cuz we have a vegetarian in our group, and made some changes for the 2nd batch which made it even better (I think!). I reduced the milk to 3 cups whole, 2 cups 1% (cuz that's what we have on hand), and 1 cup chicken broth. (Because the soup is so darned thick and extremely rich!) I also sauteed 1 finely minced carrot for a minute or two, then added 1 minced onion and 1 minced celery stalk til all was soft and tender, then put in a minced garlic clove and sauteed for about another minute. Pureed the entire thing in my Cuisinart and stirred it into the soup along with the cheese, et al. Gave it even MORE flavor--totally over the top! I then ended up stirring the two batches together and dumping the entire thing in my crock pot! I put chopped green onion, bacon, cheese and sour cream in little bowls for everyone to top as they wanted. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was excellent, everyone loved it. I only made minor changes - 6 spuds instead of 9 and I slightly undercooked them in the microwave and then cut them into small hunks when cooled. Then once I had the soup base thickened, I threw it all in the crockpot for several hours on low until the potatoes were totally cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Wonderful recipe for people new to making soup. It's also an easy recipe to accomodate to your tastes. I'm a vegetarian, so I took out the bacon. I also substituted vidalia onions for green onions and replaced the whole milk with skim. You can try soy bacon bits, but I find they become soggy. Also try adding chopped potato skins (it has all the nutrients) to the soup to make it chunkier, or add milk continuously to thin it out. Even though I now need a full membership to the local gym due to this soup, it's worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Thanks for posting such an easy recipe. I have made this twice, and I've made the following changes.....I added a can of golden mushroom soup (plus a can of water) I substitued chives for green onions, and I doubled the bacon. Delicioso! ++++++++++++++ p.s. I have also made a lower-fat version using a combination of Butter and Olive Oil for the butter, 1% milk for the whole milk, and substituting canadian bacon for bacon. I also used 8 oz. fat free cream cheese and 2 cups of beef broth to substitute for sour cream and substituted laughing cow light cheese (3 triangles of the garlic/herb flavor) for the shredded cheddar......just as good, and maybe better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHMCSHANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
THIS is REALLY GREAT!!! I baked Yukon Gold potatoes in the oven for 1 hour..then proceeded with the recipe.. TO DO ahead... follow the instructions until stirring in the sour cream... REFRIGERATE ....When ready to serve, heat potato soup.. THEN stir in the sour cream.. I also had the bacon, additional scallions, and shredded cheese on the side ....YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This soup is wonderful. I have tried many recipes, but this one is JUST right. I reduced the fat a bit by using reduced fat sour cream, using skim milk rather than whole milk, reduced the cheddar cheese to about 6 ounces, and only used 1/2 cup flour. It tasted just like restaurant potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe was super easy and tasted great! I modified it a little by using skim milk and fat free sour cream, but it still tasted rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This recipe turned out way too thick. I added extra milk but think that if I make this one again I will try chicken broth. The extra milk made it to rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent soup! Although to make it even yummier, I used real bacon and tripled the bacon, green onion and cheese. Also- I baked the potatoes in the oven. Additionally, I did not add any salt to the soup as the bacon provided the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States