Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is so good! I left out the bacon for my vegetarian daughter but replaced the salt with bacon salt for that smoky flavor. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Meyer Wolff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
so easy and quick! Added cayenne pepper for a little zing - the hubs requires it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rad_Mom_of_2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Perfect texture and the flavor is out of this world. I did garnish with more cheese, sour cream, bacon, and green onions! The best I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
i first cooked this soup for a group of friends, not quite sure if it would go over well. It turned out to be a GREAT success, and there were no leftovers to be had (which caused much complaining among those who were too polite to rush the pot for seconds). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I placed the potatoes in the oven for 40 min instead of the micro. And added more green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made adjustments to the original recipe, or I would have probably given this the full five stars. Making a half batch, I used 1 1/2 c skim milk and originally 2 c vegetable broth. Having put in everything but the sour cream and cheese, I then put this in the crock pot on low for about 4 hours, then added the cheese - and this could still use another c vegetable broth or milk to thin it out. I'm sure that with the original recipe, the rich thickness of the soup is part of its tremendous appeal... it's just a bit too much for me. Otherwise, thanks much for an awesome starter - this will definitely be kept around for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So good! I took it to a party and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This really is a fantastic potato soup. I didn't follow it exactly but that's what's so great about it--it's very versatile. For example, I sauteed a diced small white onion in the butter for about 10 minutes on medium and then added 3 minced garlic cloves for 1 minute before I added the flour. I used 1% milk and still had to add a lot more skim milk later on to thin it out because this is a really thick base. I also used real bacon and probably added way more than the recipe called for, as well as more green onions. I will say that the sour cream at the end really added that extra something it needed. This soup is easy to make in a lower fat version and when I'm just cooking for our family that's how I'll make it but I never cook low fat for guests (it's just bad form) and this recipe really is better when you go all out so if you have the chance and aren't afraid to splurge on calories just once in a while, I recommend using the whole milk, real bacon and regular sour cream. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipe!! The only things i did different was I cut the recipe in half, I used cream cheese instead of sour cream and I add a little bit more milk. Mmmmm, Baked Potato Soup!! Will keep and make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2angels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was too thick. Taste is good and its a straight forward recipe. Skipped the sour cream (not a fan) and added half 2% milk and half chicken broth. It still needs extra liquid when reheating or it becomes mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States