Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This is the absolute BEST Potato Soup ever.....Made it and thought I would bust. I couldn't quit eating it..Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfarley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordonsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
YUM!!!!! Total 5 stars. I did make some changes. With the changes it is the perfect potato soup. We cooked the potatoes and cut them into chunks. I used real bacon that was cooked to a crisp. We also used about 1 cup of regular onion. Everything else we did exactly the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
In terms of flavor, this soup is AMAZING. It is so comforting and creamy; a fantastic comfort food. The great thing (for me) was that I could use light sour cream, 2%milk, and cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and still have great results. I didn't add bacon (I'm a vegetarian). My only problem is with the amount of liquid. It simply didn't call for enough liquid; as written the recipe is so thick its hard to stir and definitely not "soup." I just added some veggie broth and *ta da*! perfect :) That's not a big problem in my book but it is something I hope others look out for. Regardless, this is a soup I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first potato soup I ever made---and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Not what I expected. Half the potatoes were either over or under cooked and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is a delicious recipe!!!! Made it tonight and my husband and three kiddos loved it. I how ever used both bacon grease and chicken broth to make the roux. Outside of that would not change a thing. Thank you!!!! And just a little note it is a lot so if you have small family you may want to cut it in about half there is 5 of us and plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I change this recipe quite a bit to make it somewhat healthier - 3 Sweet Potatoes, 1 head of cauliflower, 2 regular potatoes w/skin for the potatoes (cut in chunks and roasted first); 2 cup broth and skim milk for whole milk; low fat sour cream. Then I ruined it (ha) by using real bacon cooked on a George Forman grill until crispy - and then the fat dripped off. VERY THICK - really almost like milky mashed potatoes. Froze in individual containers for reheating in the microwave for work lunch. Very yummy - but with my changes you definitely get more of a sweet potato taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great soup. I used 1 lb. bacon and 3 lbs. yukon gold potatoes. It was a bit thick but my husband likes it that way. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This soup is delicious and easy. I do recommend baking the potatoes in a regular oven if you have a whimpy little microwave like I do since mine nearly died after doing three batches of potatoes. Oh, and make sure you have milk on hand to thin it if you end up with leftovers because it does get quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Excellent Recipe! I did not use microwave for potatoes as I think baked potatoes should be baked! =) Don't be afraid to double the bacon( use real bacon) and definitely triple the scallions. I also used extra sharp cheddar cheese and an extra potato or two. Outstanding soup. Make a double batch!! Reheats beautifully. Thank you TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States