Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is by far the best baked potatoe soup reciepe I've tried, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was very good. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it was too thick--even though I added extra milk at the end. Also, I cut the recipe down to 4 servings instead of 12. I see other reviewers added chicken broth instead of milk. Another alternative maybe would be to cut the thickening agent in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Great Recipe. I made a couple of alterations. I added an additional cup of milk to thin it out a little bit. I also doubled the bacon and used half of it in the soup for a little bit more flavor. Prep before you begin and always use oven baked potatoes this soup comes together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I had a a little more than half of a bag of organic red potatoes I needed to use or lose. Perfect time to make potato soup. Because I'm watching my weight/carb count, I used mostly organic chicken broth in place of the milk (1/4 cup of fat free half-n-half was plenty and I used a one-32 ounce carton of broth), turkey bacon in place of the real bacon and I cut the cheese and sour cream by at least half. I added chives, garlic and onion to my potato soup, too, for more flavor. That's not reflective of the recipe, it's just something to lighten it up for me and make the recipe more personal. If you are short on time, the potatoes and broth can go into your crockpot and cook away on high for a couple hours until the potatoes are fork tender. Then, you either mash it with a potato masher (for a chunkier soup) or puree it with a immersion blender (for a thinner soup) and add all your bacon bits, onions, cheese and sour cream before serving. The great thing about potato soup is it's super bendable to whatever your dietary/budget needs or time restraints are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
it came out very thick, it is perfect for my family, I love soup but it's difficult for my 2 year old to eat, she actually ate this with her spoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly but I felt like it was missing something. I didn't really care for it but my family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I gave this recipe a 5 star rating because its a great starter recipe. Taking the advice of other users I fried bacon to start, then used the bacon grease to sautee carrot, celery, onions and garlic. I also used a french onion sour cream and added that to the soup once the recipe calls for it. All in all this came out AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This tasted great, but VERY heavy. (as if you couldn't tell by looking at the ingredients) Hearty winter soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjacko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This soup was very easy to make. I am glad I read some of the previous posters comments. The soup is VERY thick and I ended up using chicken broth to help thin it out a bit. I didn't use whole milk, since we drink 2% that's what I used. I also used light sour cream but stuck with the regular cheddar cheese. I also back the salt down to 1 1/2 teaspoons since the bacon has enough salt in it anyway. I used my dutch oven pot since I knew it wasn't all going to fit in my largest sauce pan. Big hit with the family. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for Ladies Night Out at my place and everyone enjoyed. This is a keeper! Fantastic recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States