Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This is one of those recipes where I have to wonder where the top photo for the recipe came from. Mine looked nothing like mashed poatoes. My potatoes were a little small, possibly, but my soup looked like soup. I wanted to lower the fat/sat. fat content so I used all low-fat dairy products and even used half the amount of cheddar cheese called for. I am so glad I did that, because with half the cheese, it tasted like a soup version of cheesy potatoes. I did also just add a couple sprinkles of black pepper to as I am not a fan of it. It is a little work to make, but I liked that I could microwave the potatoes while I did other things. It even gave them time to cool before scooping out the potato. I also used pre-cooked bacon to save time that I microwaved until crisp. I wouldn't call this a traditional tasting potato soup, but I am sure it will all get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent! Loved it and I did cut it in half and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Made w allvegan substitutes and was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very good. I did add a cup of chicken broth and this recipe is def a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent soup! I'm passed this around to a lot of people and have gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dysart, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Totally amazing. Make it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Fairly bland and thick. The first time I made it, I added extra cheese, bacon, and green onions, and it was still bland. The second time I made it, I used half the flour to try and thin it a bit (still was super thick) and then to make it more flavorful, I substituted bacon grease for part of the butter and tripled the bacon, salt, pepper, cheese, and green onions. It was still very bland, so I added an entire packet of onion soup mix. That made it pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Very yummy! A nice change to dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I pretty much follow the recipe i add a little more bacon and cheese into my soup. Also! I split the milk quantity in half...i use 3 cups of milk and 3 cups of chicken broth. It gives it a little more flavour! This is the best baked potato soup I have ever had! My whole family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Its a good base, wish I would've read the reviews sooner. Although I halved the recipe I still ended up using a whole quart of milk and still needed chicken stock. Made better Mashed Potatoes than soup. Rather tasteless too. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States