Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is my favorite soup recipe. It makes a very thick and rich soup. At first I was not pleased with how much I burned my fingers cooking and peeling the potatoes in the microwave as directed. I recommend peeling and cubing the potatoes then cook them in boiling water until they can be pierced with a fork. (I usually can get all the other ingredients cut, grated and measured out about the same time the potatoes are ready, give or take a few mins) Then strain and slightly mash with a fork or potato masher. No burnt fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved it! I will say I thought it may have been hazardous to my microwave... next time I will oven bake the potatoes rather than microwave them. I used real bacon, and substituted as much bacon fat as I could for the butter in the recipe. It needed extra milk to thin it out (and it's still super thick). Added a little parsley and onion powder for flavor. Turned out very well, will make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have to agree with others that, as written, this soup comes out way too thick, for our liking. I had to add quite a bit of water to get it to a somewhat "soup-like" consistency. In addition, for our tastes, it did not have much flavor and I ended up doctoring it up with several spices. I did appreciate the method of microwaving the potatoes, as I found that to be a great time saver, especially since I cut the recipe in half and only had to nuke four potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Hi I made this today for our cafe' and it was absolutely wonderful, The customers were in awe over this soup. Prep was easy and I did leave the skin on the baked potatoes and I cooled them before I diced the in large chunks. Hats off to the owner of this recipe it is fabulous. Thank You, Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
MADE JUST AS THE RECIPE INSTRUCTED AND IT WAS EXCELLENT. BETTER THAN THE SOUP I'VE HAD AT RESTAURANTS NEARBY. A FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe, turned out delicious!! It's very thick, so if you want some liquid, add more milk throughout process and blend well for a more soupy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I don't understand how these potato soup recipes got so many 5 stars. I was unsure of making a soup with 2/3 cup of four, but the top three recipes all had the same amount of flour. The outcome was a pasty flour taste. The lack of spices also make this rather bland. I will have to locate another recipe I used to use that was similar to this, but with the roux being made with 2 TBLS of flour. It also had chicken broth, hot sauce, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Since most of the Bennigan's in our area closed years ago, I have been trying for most of those years to duplicate their "Ultimate Baked Potato" soup. Sadly, this was not it. I followed it to the letter, and it was bland, at best. It was way too thick, and the flavor just wasn't there. I don't think I'd even try to "doctor it up." I'll just keep my search for a Bennigan's clone going. Sorry about the negative review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I loved this and so did my family. I used 4 cups milk and 2 cups chicken broth. I fforgot to add sour cream but it was wonderdul all the same. Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Too thick, too bland and too fattening for my tastes even with 2 cups broth and added veggies and seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States