Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This potato soup is a big hit in my house! My family now thinks I am the best soup cook around! I did change one thing, I replaced 1/2 of the milk with half and half. This made it a little bit richer, as if it really needed to be. Thank you. Murene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MURENE KAUFMAN
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I absolutely LOVE IT! I ended up putting aside 3 of the potatoes, cubed and cooked them so I would have some chunks of potato in the soup, it also helped to thin the soup a bit, as it is very thick. The best tasting soup EVER! Don't forget to garnish with some leftover green onion, cheese, bacon bits and a dab of sour cream in the middle, YUMMY and looks beautiful. My kids loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
This soup is wonderful! I didn't have whole milk or green onions. I used skim milk and half a cup of sweet yellow onion. The soup was still very thick with the skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
The best soup I ever made!!! My family loved it! I did have to add a little extra milk at the end because it was too thick. It may depend on your potatoes.My kids said it tasted just like a baked potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Wonderful recipe for people new to making soup. It's also an easy recipe to accomodate to your tastes. I'm a vegetarian, so I took out the bacon. I also substituted vidalia onions for green onions and replaced the whole milk with skim. You can try soy bacon bits, but I find they become soggy. Also try adding chopped potato skins (it has all the nutrients) to the soup to make it chunkier, or add milk continuously to thin it out. Even though I now need a full membership to the local gym due to this soup, it's worth it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe was super easy and tasted great! I modified it a little by using skim milk and fat free sour cream, but it still tasted rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This soup is wonderful. I have tried many recipes, but this one is JUST right. I reduced the fat a bit by using reduced fat sour cream, using skim milk rather than whole milk, reduced the cheddar cheese to about 6 ounces, and only used 1/2 cup flour. It tasted just like restaurant potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
I love it.Potato soup has to be my favorite,this was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This soup is delicious and very filling. Everyone absolutely loved it. I look forward to making this again and again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Very good, dh went back for seconds and thirds. I added a can of chicken broth to thin it out some. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States