Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
In terms of flavor, this soup is AMAZING. It is so comforting and creamy; a fantastic comfort food. The great thing (for me) was that I could use light sour cream, 2%milk, and cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and still have great results. I didn't add bacon (I'm a vegetarian). My only problem is with the amount of liquid. It simply didn't call for enough liquid; as written the recipe is so thick its hard to stir and definitely not "soup." I just added some veggie broth and *ta da*! perfect :) That's not a big problem in my book but it is something I hope others look out for. Regardless, this is a soup I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The first potato soup I ever made---and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Not what I expected. Half the potatoes were either over or under cooked and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is a delicious recipe!!!! Made it tonight and my husband and three kiddos loved it. I how ever used both bacon grease and chicken broth to make the roux. Outside of that would not change a thing. Thank you!!!! And just a little note it is a lot so if you have small family you may want to cut it in about half there is 5 of us and plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I change this recipe quite a bit to make it somewhat healthier - 3 Sweet Potatoes, 1 head of cauliflower, 2 regular potatoes w/skin for the potatoes (cut in chunks and roasted first); 2 cup broth and skim milk for whole milk; low fat sour cream. Then I ruined it (ha) by using real bacon cooked on a George Forman grill until crispy - and then the fat dripped off. VERY THICK - really almost like milky mashed potatoes. Froze in individual containers for reheating in the microwave for work lunch. Very yummy - but with my changes you definitely get more of a sweet potato taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great soup. I used 1 lb. bacon and 3 lbs. yukon gold potatoes. It was a bit thick but my husband likes it that way. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This soup is delicious and easy. I do recommend baking the potatoes in a regular oven if you have a whimpy little microwave like I do since mine nearly died after doing three batches of potatoes. Oh, and make sure you have milk on hand to thin it if you end up with leftovers because it does get quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Excellent Recipe! I did not use microwave for potatoes as I think baked potatoes should be baked! =) Don't be afraid to double the bacon( use real bacon) and definitely triple the scallions. I also used extra sharp cheddar cheese and an extra potato or two. Outstanding soup. Make a double batch!! Reheats beautifully. Thank you TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.T.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Quick, simple, and filling. Very nice lunch dish on a cold winters day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Only made 2 minor changes and this turned out awesome. I did 4 cups milk & 2 cups broth, and added 1/4t dried Thyme. Turned out so good and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States