Baked Potato Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have to agree with others that, as written, this soup comes out way too thick, for our liking. I had to add quite a bit of water to get it to a somewhat "soup-like" consistency. In addition, for our tastes, it did not have much flavor and I ended up doctoring it up with several spices. I did appreciate the method of microwaving the potatoes, as I found that to be a great time saver, especially since I cut the recipe in half and only had to nuke four potatoes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, TLNATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Hi I made this today for our cafe' and it was absolutely wonderful, The customers were in awe over this soup. Prep was easy and I did leave the skin on the baked potatoes and I cooled them before I diced the in large chunks. Hats off to the owner of this recipe it is fabulous. Thank You, Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
MADE JUST AS THE RECIPE INSTRUCTED AND IT WAS EXCELLENT. BETTER THAN THE SOUP I'VE HAD AT RESTAURANTS NEARBY. A FAMILY FAVORITE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe, turned out delicious!! It's very thick, so if you want some liquid, add more milk throughout process and blend well for a more soupy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I don't understand how these potato soup recipes got so many 5 stars. I was unsure of making a soup with 2/3 cup of four, but the top three recipes all had the same amount of flour. The outcome was a pasty flour taste. The lack of spices also make this rather bland. I will have to locate another recipe I used to use that was similar to this, but with the roux being made with 2 TBLS of flour. It also had chicken broth, hot sauce, and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Since most of the Bennigan's in our area closed years ago, I have been trying for most of those years to duplicate their "Ultimate Baked Potato" soup. Sadly, this was not it. I followed it to the letter, and it was bland, at best. It was way too thick, and the flavor just wasn't there. I don't think I'd even try to "doctor it up." I'll just keep my search for a Bennigan's clone going. Sorry about the negative review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I loved this and so did my family. I used 4 cups milk and 2 cups chicken broth. I fforgot to add sour cream but it was wonderdul all the same. Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Too thick, too bland and too fattening for my tastes even with 2 cups broth and added veggies and seasonings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Excellent! Entire picky family loved it. I made some changes to decrease the fat content by using skim milk and cut the sour cream in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States