Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I really loved this. My very picky 17 year old son said it was amazing! I cooked the bacon first and then drained it. I added about 6 scallions with the butter. I stuck with the 6 cups of milk. I baked the potatoes in the microwave and left a little bit of skin on which my husband did not like at all but I did. I chunked the potatoes instead of mashing them. I didn't put as much cheese in but did garnish with it and the sour cream. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love this! Kid and boyfriend approved! =) The only thing I did different is keep the skins on the potatoes as I always do with potato recipes, I also added about 1/4 of a cup of the bacon grease in place of some butter. Initially I was worried about it tasting -too- much like a baked potato, but it's perfect! Will be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleenmareefer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This recipe is really good when you add in about 1 1/2 tsp of Italian herbs. We also reduced the milk by 1 cup so it was nice and thick. We waited to add the bacon to each bowl until just before eating so it didn't become soggy. With my modification I'll definitely make this again. BTW, we didn't bother baking the potatoes in the oven, we just popped 'em in the microwave for 10 minutes. All told, the soup was completely ready in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
this is the bests soup love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was ok but needed stock so I added 1 vege stock cube and a bit more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years. Everyone is a fan from little kids to grandparents. I use microwave bacon to make the process quicker when I'm in a time pinch. Especially great for the crockpot on busy sports nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It's a great soup base! But like other reviews, there are so many possibilities and you can modify to suit your individual tastes. I chose to add 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion to the bacon grease; added a pinch of salt and fresh ground black pepper and sautéed until tender. In the same dutch oven, I added a little less butter and a drizzle of olive oil to make the roux. I exchanged one cup of the milk with chicken broth; added some chopped fresh thyme; and used about 1 slice of proscuitto chopped up that I had left over (along with the crumbled bacon) - which added even more flavor. If you notice the picture, it has chunks of potatoes, which I'm not sure how you get from a baked potato...but I prefer a combination of chunks and puréed, so it depends on your preference. You can always boil some diced potatoes and purée 1/2 of them at the end if you don't want to use baked potatoes. Overall it's a delicious soup the way it's written, but I enjoy taking a recipe and making it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great and tasty soup.Very easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just tried this for supper. We really liked it! Will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States