Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I doubled this recipe and adapted it for the crockpot. I just peeled and quartered my potatoes, rinsed them and threw them in the crockpot and covered them with organic chicken broth. Once they were fork-tender, I just mushed them in the crockpot with my potato masher (for a chunkier soup) and then threw the rest of the ingredients in. I did not need the flour or butter as the potatoes thickened up nicely on their own and I only used one 12 ounce can of evaporated milk, to keep the soup thick. I did not add the sour cream only because I felt like she could add that at a later date, if she decided to freeze it OR she could add it to her family's taste. For a more baked potato taste, I added sauteed green onions, chives and fresh minced garlic and I doubled the cheese. I made this for a new mom-friend of mine but her and her family loved it. Very easy and re-warms like a champ. Very bendable and quite budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Pretty Good, It was a nice change we all enjoyed it on this rainy day, with soft warm french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
It was better than I thought it would be. However, I added more cheese than the recipe calls for and just a tad more flour. It didnt seem to be getting thick enough so i added 1 1/2 tbs. more. Delicious, hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chagyrlchicky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Love Love Love it! I did put in 8oz of the cheddar cheese instead of 5oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ib_2short

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent. I added about a cup of ham chunked in about 3/4 inch cubes. I have fixed this many times & always comes out a winner of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
2/3 cup of flour???!!! I had to sift some of the clumps of roux out of the pot. I did some major changes to save this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I have to agree with everyone. THe recipe has some flaws, but really good in the end. I made my rue with the green onions and garlic and two stalks of celery. I used less salt bacon as well. I also Boiled the potatos, and used yukon golds, as i find them creamier. Also, i didn't totally mash them. Just used a hand masher a few times so there were chunks still. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meow173

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made this soup for the first time on Christmas Eve along with a hearty chicken chili that always gets rave reviews. Should have tripled this recipe! It was the belle of the ball. Almost had people licking the inside of the crock pot! But then my friends are kind of like that...hopefully you hang with a more civilized crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made many of the suggested modifications from other reviews, including boiling the potatoes, including whipping cream and chicken broth, and reducing the milk and butter. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was fantastic. Perfect Christmas Eve dish. I doubled everything except the milk. It just seemed like too much and we like a really thick tater soup. Served the green onions and bacon on the side for guests to add accordingly. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnnetteJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States