Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years. Everyone is a fan from little kids to grandparents. I use microwave bacon to make the process quicker when I'm in a time pinch. Especially great for the crockpot on busy sports nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
It's a great soup base! But like other reviews, there are so many possibilities and you can modify to suit your individual tastes. I chose to add 1/2 cup of finely chopped onion to the bacon grease; added a pinch of salt and fresh ground black pepper and sautéed until tender. In the same dutch oven, I added a little less butter and a drizzle of olive oil to make the roux. I exchanged one cup of the milk with chicken broth; added some chopped fresh thyme; and used about 1 slice of proscuitto chopped up that I had left over (along with the crumbled bacon) - which added even more flavor. If you notice the picture, it has chunks of potatoes, which I'm not sure how you get from a baked potato...but I prefer a combination of chunks and puréed, so it depends on your preference. You can always boil some diced potatoes and purée 1/2 of them at the end if you don't want to use baked potatoes. Overall it's a delicious soup the way it's written, but I enjoy taking a recipe and making it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great and tasty soup.Very easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just tried this for supper. We really liked it! Will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was delicious! I did cut the black pepper back to 1/8 t though. For our family of three, I was considering on cutting the recipe in half and, now, wish I had. The full recipe made much more than the stated 6 servings. It was closer to 10 or so servings for us. While the leftovers aren't bad and the soup is tasty, it gets old eating it after a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
If you always order potate soup at restaurants and wondered how did they do that? This is your answer, it's rich, creamy, and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This soups was delicious. Only change I made was to fry up the bacon, remove it and most of the greast. I then sauteed the green onions in that instead of butter. The only other change I will make the next time is omit the sour cream. I did add the sour cream as the recipe called for it but I tasted it before I made the addition and, in the end, I liked the taste better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Best soup ever, totally loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
AMAZING. Great taste for such little ingredients. I diced the potatos and but them on a baking sheet with butter and spices before putting in the oven to add more flavor and softness to the potato. Note that if you keep the soup in the fridge afterwards the consistency turns very thick into what resembles mashed potatoes. Still great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States