Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
so boyfriend hasnt' issued his vote yet but i did make a few maijor changes.. first being i used two tabs of butter not 2/3 a cup i also used soy milk and red onion rather than green (green is a garnish)rather than bacon i used some left over sprial ham the boyfriend kindly parted with. the cheese and sour cream stayed but i used a bit less of the cream and added some organic chicken broth (it was on sale!) a bit more fresh ground black peper and some cajuin spices and garlic oh and a pinch of thyme too...soup seemed a little thin still so i added a bit of corn starch to thicken it up and it looks great! even the boyfriends brother who hates soymilk with a passion said it smelled good in here will post the restults after dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Great Recipe, everyone I have fed it to loves it. I make a couple of changes, I use a whole 10 lb. bag of potatos, mashing some andleaveing some boiled with skin and I also add two pounds of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used chicken stock and milk. Also, I had to add a variety of spices to give it more flavor. The soup is a meal by itself. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is my family's favorite potato soup we eat it all winter long. This soup also freezes very well. Thank you Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Well, I'll admit that due to lack of time, I cheated and used Instant Mashed Garlic Potatoes. I used a half cup of butter/flour for the roux and can't say that I really measured the milk; just kept adding until it looked right. It was just a tad bland for my taste so I added in some seasonings and a few drops of liquid smoke to help compliment the bacon. This is an incredibly satisfying soup and one that's going to stay in my recipe box. Thank you Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I have been making this recipe for years and all my family and friends absolutely love it! I have made this soup so many times that I don't measure anything except the flour and butter (I think it is important to have equal portions of these two). I use at least double the potatoes than the recipe calls for as I like a thicker soup. Note that the first time I made this I didn't stir the milk constantly and ended up burning it! So, definitely keep a watchful eye on your pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Great Soup!! It makes a lot too, we had enough for 3 days, but it was just my husband & I eating it. I followed the advise of putting potatoes in the microwave,10 mins, then baked for 20 minutes. I did this while cooking bacon(a full package) and making up my roux, and potatoes where ready when I needed them. When making the roux, I used a little of the grease left over from bacon,added green onion, used salted butter, and added just a pinch of Italian seasoning. Left the skins on potatoes, and doubled the cheese. NEver added any extra salt, but did add a lot more pepper (just kept tasting it). Soup was really thick until sour cream was added, plus it was a great flavor too. *** Had to add about 2 cups of milk the next day to thin soup out for left overs, but it still tasted really good*** Will make again, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
i changed this a little to what i had on hand. i didnt have the sc so i added a packet of dry ranch. my whole family ate this up it made a nice amount and the big guy had 2 bowls. i served it with grilled cheese and it was a GREAT meal for a cool fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This soup is out of this world! You don't need a bunch of fancy spices to get a great flavor, to whom ever makes this soup and doen't like it well honey you just ain't doing it right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This is the best potato soup I ever had even my husband said that this soup was awsome,and it was so easy to make, no need to buy store bought soup any more this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States