Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Really good! I didn't change anything. It's full of flavor and great for a cold day! I do serve with fresh bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane917

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I did as someone we lose suggested and used some bacon grease in the roux. I also used 2 cups chicken stock and 4 cups milk and added a couple cloves of garlic... it was absolutely delicious and I will have this as the goto baked potato soup recipe. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Britt Machowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
It's only me, so I made it for 2 servings. Only needed 1 very large baked potato. Used 1/2 veg stock and 1/2 evaporated milk for the milk. Cooked a bit of onion and garlic in the butter before adding the milk/stock. No bacon. Otherwise followed the directions and it was exquisite. A small cup was so rich it made for a quick dinner. Can't wait to see what it tastes like tomorrow! Thanks, Carol, for taking the time to share your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I loved this i did how ever make a few changes i just added some minced onion and garlic as well as some Italian seasoning for some extra flavor!! i will be making this again it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OGEARY
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My family loves this soup! It is wholly awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I've been wanting to make a potatoe soup for sometime. I didn't give it much thought except for all the potatoes I would be using. I never imagined I would be serving it from a skillet. I read over the comments and went with Jamie's suggestions of Chicken broth and reduced my milk. Perfect, both on density and taste! What's for dinner? Potatoe soup from mommys frying pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica A
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Tried it last night. It turned out pretty good. I admit it tasted better the next day. Also I did add some garlic and onion powder to mine as well. I'll definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I gave it four stars because I did tweak the recipe a little. I started by microwaving the potatoes. Then I browned the bacon and removed most of the fat leaving some for flavor. Added the butter to the bacon fat and continued the directions. When it was time to add the milk, I used 2 cups chicken broth and 4 cups milk like other readers suggested. Definitely a must have in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Yum! This is a keeper. I made this with microwaved baked potatoes and we still felt it turned out great. Instead of green onions, I used sweet yellow ones. I softened them in the butter before adding the flour to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I came across this recipe the other day, and finally got around to making it. It turned out fantastic! Like a lot of other people I added a little bacon grease to the roux, and it tastes amazing! I would definitely recommend it especially if you're not a very good cook. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States