Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This soup is way good! I made only a couple of changes to the recipe; first I cooked the bacon in the same pot I used to make the soup, I drained most of the fat and then added the butter and made the roux. I then deglazed the pan with 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth followed by only 4 cups of milk. I think the bacon and chicken broth gave the soup great flavor. I have tried about 4 other recipes and they always come out tasting like mashed potato soup. I will most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atwater, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
OMG --- I love potato soup and this is a GREAT recipe. I did however make a couple of changes to it. I sauted the chopped green onions in the roux to soften them a little. I then followed the recipe until after I added the milk. I then whisked approx 1/2 cup of flour with some heavy cream in a separate bowl. I slowly added this to the the soup and stirred constantly. I then poured about another cup of heavy cream to the soup. This made it thicker than the original recipe made and hearty too. Let me tell you it was a HIT!!! My husband went to chef school for 3 years and LOVED it. I then took some to work the next day and my staff loved it as well. This is definitely a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I made this soup to surprise a dear co-worker who really wanted potato soup. She and everyone loved it! And now I am being asked to make it often. The best suggestion is to "truly" bake the potatoes. I also decided to some of the bacon fat in the roux for more flavor. I did not serve the same day but rather chose to refrigerate overnight for flavor. This is a very thick soup therefore the next day needed to be thinned with milk/half & half but the flavor was excellent. I chopped the bacon before cooking and any lartger bits, broke them prior to adding to soup. I held back some to add upon serving along with finely shredded cheddar and sour cream. This is a killer soup! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
My family loves this soup. I use fat free milk, 2% sharp cheddar cheese, the precooked bacon bits, and light sour cream and have had no complaints! I don't cook the potatoes in the microwave. I boil them on the stove and make the roux while waiting for the potatoes to cook. I also do what some suggested and cook the onions in the butter to give it a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
This soup deserves 10 stars. I swear by this soup in the winter. My boyfriend loves it and requests that I make it often. It's great served with Cheddar Biscuits and a green salad. Must try - you WON'T be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
YUM!! This is a delicious soup recipe. I omitted the bacon (we're veggies) and used fat free sour cream--excellent. Also, I didn't have the time to bake the potatos, so I diced them up and boiled them until soft. Then I mashed up about 1/2 and left the others in small chunks for the soup--made it nice and hearty, and turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
My eldest son can't stop eating this soup. Got positive feedback from everyone who ate it. Don't make the mistake of adding additional flour to the roux because the soup thickens considerably when you add the potatoes. Very creamy.I made this a day ahead of time so added 2/3 green onion at that time. Added rest of gr. onion, sour cream, and bacon just before serving(so bacon wouldn't get mushy)the next day. (I cooked the bacon well done in the oven and chopped it medium dice, although the recipe does not specify.)Garnished with grated cheddar,left over green onion, and a little diced tomato (for a festive look). Requires fair amount prep time with stirring soup, and cooking bacon etc., but would make this again! Next time I will use at least part bacon grease in the roux to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I doubled this recipe and adapted it for the crockpot. I just peeled and quartered my potatoes, rinsed them and threw them in the crockpot and covered them with organic chicken broth. Once they were fork-tender, I just mushed them in the crockpot with my potato masher (for a chunkier soup) and then threw the rest of the ingredients in. I did not need the flour or butter as the potatoes thickened up nicely on their own and I only used one 12 ounce can of evaporated milk, to keep the soup thick. I did not add the sour cream only because I felt like she could add that at a later date, if she decided to freeze it OR she could add it to her family's taste. For a more baked potato taste, I added sauteed green onions, chives and fresh minced garlic and I doubled the cheese. I made this for a new mom-friend of mine but her and her family loved it. Very easy and re-warms like a champ. Very bendable and quite budget friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I really didn't care for this recipe. There was no mention of spices of any kind so the soup was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Really good...I added some garlic too for a little flavor, and added milk when reheating (which it also does well) because it was a little thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States