Baked Potato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
meh- there was way too much roux- i would use 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. flour if I were ever to try it again. The soup was sooo thick, I had to add several more cups of milk. This only kept it the right consistency for a little while, then it stared thickening again. I also could taste the flour in the soup. I probably wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
loved it! I made this for a friend and we couldn't believe how delicious this was. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mortons Gap, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
As an extra,try adding broccoli!I have made this soup for years its a favorite of my family and friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgornall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Tasted just like a baked potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
EXCELLENT. I have never tasted anything better. Rich, creamy, and delightful. I did cut the amount of bacon half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really good.Taste better the second day after sitting in fridge. Also, sprinkle cheese over top makes it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Very good, my family enjoyed it. I added the green onions in with the butter to cook about 3 minutes before adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
A really thick and good soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy1225

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
AMAZING!! I was a little concerned that this might turn out like mashed potatoe soup but it was quite good. I took the advice of some other members and used a small amount of bacon greese when making the roux. I also put the green onions in while I was adding the milk and added one bay leaf for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Delicious, but so rich. Didn't realize what a huge amount of butter it was until I saw it in the pot! I used skim milk, light sour cream and 8 slices Turkey bacon--slightly less fattening and still tasted super rich. It needed salt though (1 tsp. worked). To cut the baking time for the potatoes, do 10 min. in the microwave (poke w/ fork first, of course) and then 20 min. in the oven at 375. By the time I had cooked/crumbled the bacon and added the broth and milk to the roux (following another reviewer) the potatoes were ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States