Baked Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This recipe made me like potato soup! I thought all potato soups were thin and, well, soupy! And difficult to make. This was almost more like scalloped potatoes - it was rich and thick and just the right flavor. I threw in some leftover ham and took it to a potluck - it was gone lickety-split and everyone was asking for "my" recipe! Thanks JW for a great but simple recipe - this one's going in the box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Easy. Microwaving the potatoes is a great idea. It makes a heaping serving. I added salt and cracked black pepper as the roux was cooking and dried onions( I didn't have fresh green onions or else I would have used them and maybe some garlic). I threw this together but with more planning I can make it better. It tastes rich but I did not use the sour cream. The cheese and sour cream will help but I would suggest letting the individual decide how much of those items they'll want in their bowl. I also added turkey bacon and what bacon drippings there were. Overall, a fast and family friendly meal. Thanks JW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
super easy and tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This soup had absolutely no flavor. After adding extra sourcream, onion, and cheese it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
YUM! This was a GREAT soup, but I can't give it 5 stars because it did need some help (after which it was great!) but as others have said the basic soup is a good base to build on. I roasted 1 entire head of garlic (about 10 cloves or so) and added it to the milk/roux combo along with one of the baked potatoes. I blended it with my immersion blender until creamy then added the rest of the potatoes. A little shredded cheddar on top and it was sooo good. We didn't even miss the sour cream (skipped it since the soup was already very thick) and also reduced the butter to 1/4 c instead of 1/3 c. I also ended up having to add another cup of milk since it was way too thick with just the 4 cups. Without the sour cream and reduced amount of butter this is actually a relatively healthy recipe! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Great recipe. Our family loves baked potato soup. Even my 18 month old. She ate a huge bowl. Because we like our soup loaded I added cheese and bacon to the soup. I also had to add some additional milk since my soup got too thick, really a minor thing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
this soup was too thick and not to much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALFFINGR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
THIS WAS A BIG HIT WITH MY FAMILY. TO MAKE IT MORE OF A TIME SAVER WHEN SERVING, I ADDED CHOPPED FROZEN ONIONS, CHEDDAR CHEESE, BACON & CHIVES TO THE SOUP AND COOKED A LITTLE LONGER BEFORE SERVING. I ALSO ADDED SOME ADDITIONAL SEASONING AND EXTRA SOUR CREAM. MY FAMILY WOULD NOT EAT THE REST OF THE DINNER I HAD MADE THAT DAY. THEY MADE THIS SOUP THEIR DINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
Yuk! This tasted like bland glue. Definitely needs some spices to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Simple to make in a short time, and Tastes great! Good for the cold weather or just to have something different when you are extra hungry and need something filling. Steph B. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States