Baked Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
A bit bland needs some spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I messed up the proportions because I wanted to make half. But I made the roux with the whole amounts...Oops. Since I had only 3 potatoes cooking (boiled them), I only added 3 cups of milk. Also left the skins on (healthier) and added onions (LOVE onions) and pepper and garlic salt. End result is quite awesome. Yep, 5 stars! I made it AGAIN: I added onion and garlic to the roux. It's a nice comfort food. I think scallions would go nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this and it was absolutely delicious! I felt so accomplished making potato soup from scratch! My roux didn't exactly set up like a roux but it ended up fine and I definitely added some seasoning (pepper, salt, mrs. dash, garlic) and it was perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I'll give this a generous 3 - I can't imagine this recipe as is without a LOT of additions for flavor. I added garlic powder, onion powder, fresh ground pepper, 6 oz of shredded sharp cheddar (still kinda blah) then sauted some onions and threw them in with salt and more pepper and then added about 1.5 cups of corn. The good news is that soup allows for a lot of 'tweeking' but the recipe as it is with no changes is way overrated. Be prepared to experiment and you'll probably get something you like - otherwise be prepared for hot starchy water. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe - quick, easy, and tasty. I added a little white pepper for an added spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeBorah
Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I added 8oz mozzarella, salt, black pepper, and sauted onions in butter. I garnished with a little parsley. Pretty good but next time I may add leeks and substitute yogurt for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I did not care for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My husband is very picky about potato soup but I fed him this last night and he loved it! I did omit the sour cream because I was using it in another recipe, but I probably will add it next time. Great recipe and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was so easy I could cook it during my lunch break if I wanted to! I used salted sweet cream butter and no sour cream, and just added some sea salt and cracked pepper with a bit of shredded cheese on top and it was amazing! I mashed half of a potato to make it extra thick and creamy, but I might try a bit less as I only made two servings. But this is a great recipe even for beginning cookers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Wow, this soup is soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States