Baked Potato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this recipe the other day and was amazed at how easy it was to make. It defnitely needs some additional seasoning, but you're allowed to tweak it to your particular tastes. A few sprinkles of season salt and garlic salt and this soup was good to go. One thing I changed is I only used 4 potatoes and I still got a pretty think soup. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This recipe is very good as written! I added a few things for our own preferences. I microwaved cubed potatoes and chopped medium onion together for about 6-8 minutes. I added a good spoonful of jarred chopped garlic to this. I added 4 or 5 slices of american cheese and roughly one cup of mozzarella cheese. Bacon would have been really good also, but I didn't want to take the extra time. All in all this was excellent! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
this was very good, though it seemed to be missing something, next time I'll try adding some bacon. thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Well, yes it was a buit bland. My wife and I made it two ways 1) with the basic recipe, my wife is Dietary Supervisor at the Local Nursing/Long Term Care Home, and the recipe was perfect for the residents. 2) We added some blenderized Jalapenos, Black Pepper, Cayenne, and crushed garlic and onions to the roux. Deserves 5 stars in my opinion because it is so easy to change for different tastes. We also canned 6 quarts to give our neighbors, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This recipe was so easy and my husband and children just loved it!! This soup tasted as though you were actually eating a baked potato right out of the oven. I tweaked it a little to my liking by adding some crumbled bacon and definitely some salt and pepper to taste. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slrobb77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Like others have said, this recipe is really bland, BUT it can be improved with additional flavoring/spices. It was not to hard to make and it was filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Good but needed more flavor...I added 2 tbsp of bacon grease to soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This was awesome on a cold winter day. It made all of us warm up. It is very creamy and soft on the tongue. Very yummy, my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Just made this soup, and served it to my family who spent hours sledding, playing and shoveling our 24" of snow today. It was a big hit, with some changes as mentioned by other reviewers. 1. I used about 5 potatoes, or 3lbs. 2. I sauteed 1 onion, 2 stalks of celery and 3 large cloves of garlic in the butter until onions were transluscent, celery soft and garlic fragrant. Then I added four to make roux. 3. I mashed potatoes before adding to milk mixture. 4. I added cup of chicken broth to thin out. 5. I pureed soup with immersion blender. 6. I added some frozen peas after pureed soup. 7. I added Bacos (imitation bacon crumbs) to each bowl when serving. I think I would not puree as much, and leave some chunks of potato. I will definitely make again. Very good with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This was very easy to make, but I thought rather bland tasting. I added a ton of black pepper, a bit of red pepper flakes and garlic salt. It was very thick, which I like. I did also top with cheddar cheese and bacon bits, as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States