Baked Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by jbarrera
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipes is really good! It does come out thick so I did add more 2% milk at the end to thin it out. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and some bacon grease to enhance the bacon flavor (obviously I'm not going for the healthy version) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
A very hearty soup my family enjoy's it everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Really tasty recipe. I read a handful of reviews prior to making this and am surprised no one mentioned adding an acid to the recipe. I didn't realize it until I tasted it... only the salt is working to bring the flavors through to your tastebuds. It needed some acid and something bitter to truly make the most of the ingredients. I squeezed a quarter of a lemon in there at a time until it reached my liking (ended up at 3/4 of a lemon but would have been fine at 1/2). For the bitter aspect, I added a dash of cayenne. You can't taste the cayenne, but you'll notice more flavors revealed. A tip for the potatoes, I peeled and cubed them for faster cooking. I put them in a 9x13 and covered with foil, then roasted at 400 for 30 minutes. Check them to see if they mash easily, if they don't, throw them back in the oven for a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Good base for a potato soup, but I need to adjust for my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is awesome!! Thick, creamy, full of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I took others advice and left out the butter completely. Just mixed the flour with a little milk instead. Added 1/2 sautéed onion and minced garlic (didnt have green onions). Used 6 reg potatoes, 4 cups skim milk, 2 cups chicken broth, some garlic powder, 1/8-1/4 tsp cayenne, handful dried parsley and kept the light sour cream, sharp cheddar, and a few bacon pieces for on top of each bowl. Absolutely delicious, tons of flavor with not much added salt. The best part is I lowed the calories to about 369 per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Made this today. I used a can of chicken broth in place of 1 cup milk and 6 baked potatoes instead of 4. Came out awesome! Without a doubt I will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe! The whole family did, even my six year old! I used light sour cream, 2% milk (4 cups), chicken broth (2 cups), 2 chicken boulion cubes, and added a little cayenne after reading other reviews. We also had some French bread for dipping. Very filling! Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
great soup!! had a great consistancy. It needs more flavor, add more salt and some chicken bollion. I also added some carrots and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Wonderful, creamy potato soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States